1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

NETGEAR’s CES 2018 Announcements:

Discussion in 'NETGEAR AC Wireless' started by thiggins, Jan 8, 2018.

  1. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,339
    [​IMG]
    NETGEAR's CES 2018 introductions include something for gamers, business and babies.

    Read on SmallNetBuilder
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. sharpz44

    sharpz44 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    The Duma OS this runs on is very good for gaming having used there R1 router, this could be a massive step.the geo filter and congestion control work very well
     
  4. sharpz44

    sharpz44 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Tim, Netgear are not doing it alone and are now partnered with Netduma who created the OS
     
    thiggins likes this.
  5. Killhippie

    Killhippie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    UK
    Will this get the up and coming WPA3 I wonder? Will it take a 63 character ASCII password, unlike my R7800 :rolleyes: So many questions. Think I'll stick with my R7800 for now. Gone are my bleeding edge days with Netgear.
    Edit although the firmware may be better since Netgear are not going it alone. I’ll still wait for reviews first and a price drop and quite a few updates. It hopefully has to be better than the mess that Netgear call firmware at present.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2018
    sharpz44 likes this.
  6. cyroxn

    cyroxn Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Most of the "gaming" routers are an abomination.

    As for the Netgear Armor it seems to be a bit on the expensive side if you don't use the Bitdefender family pack extensively.
     
    Killhippie likes this.
  7. Sizzlechest

    Sizzlechest Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    A better question (for me) is will my R7800 get WPA3 via a firmware update?
     
  8. Killhippie

    Killhippie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    UK
    Considering none of my other devises support it and I’m not replacing them all I’m not to worried. I can see like Krack a lot of devices won’t be updated like sound bars blue ray players smart TV’s etc.
     
  9. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    27,213
    Location:
    Canada
    For those wondering, DumaOS = OpenWRT with some extra add-ons by Netduma on top of it.
     
    Rolo, NowhereMan, Hydro and 5 others like this.
  10. phattio

    phattio New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    interested to see r7800 vs. xr500...
     
  11. avtella

    avtella Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    USA
    It’s probably pretty much the same plus the extra 128 MB of NAND flash. Initial OS testing was done on the R7800 prior to release. Basically Duma overlay with one of the settings in the menu labeled as “Netgear Settings” which contains the main settings you would see in a standard Netgear router laid out as usual.
     
    Killhippie and phattio like this.
  12. phattio

    phattio New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    sounds like any possible speed increase won’t be significant enough to warrant an upgrade from a r7800
     
  13. Killhippie

    Killhippie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    UK
    Specs are totally the same, r7800 has the same 128mb flash and 512mb ram, if the CPU is the same its just a R7800 in disguise with optimisations to make people spend more money.

    I was just wondering if it being not all Netgear code if some of the packages netgear keep hidden and not updated will be updated as its a different OS. (cant imagine netgear letting go of the wheels totally) unless they finally realise their firmware is at points very old, very buggy and with some bad bugs in new releases, so going down the OpenWRT path means its more stable long term.
     
    phattio likes this.
  14. house

    house Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    they share the same FCC ID and hardware :)
     
    phattio likes this.
  15. Temchenko

    Temchenko Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    41
    I think it's the matter of time when Duma OS will arrive to R7800. Either NG itself will update R7800 or we'll see port of Duma OS from XR500 made by someone here. Hardware wise R7800 is still very capable platform and I think that XR500 have same HW under the hood. So, waiting begins =)
     
    phattio and Killhippie like this.
  16. Killhippie

    Killhippie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    UK
    So Netgear finally let go of the firmware side and that's the only difference apart from the oh so aggressive gamer styling :rolleyes: Wish they could do it with the R7800 and port the OS as mentioned maybe then all the code that even Voxel cant get too would get fixed. Well I can dream ;)
     
    phattio and rbird2 like this.
  17. avtella

    avtella Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    USA
    Killhippie even stock R7800 firmware is OpenWRT based. Granted it’s the older 12.09 Attitude Adjustment I believe. The XR500 has 256 MB NAND vs 128 MB NAND in the R7800.
     
  18. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,339
    Announcement said there was more flash. Spec sheet NETGEAR sent as part of press package says:
    Memory: 128 MB flash and 512 MB RAM
     
  19. avtella

    avtella Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    USA
    They changed it from what I recall, unless I’m mistaken. Similar thing happened with the D7800 at the last minute, but it was RAM on that one. R7500v2 on some boxes said 256 MB RAM while it had 512 MB in actuality.

    Oddly a bunch of sites including PC World also say 256MB flash, but checking now manual says 128 MB. Thiggins maybe you can get a clarification from Netgear.


    Regardless it’s pretty much an R7800 lol, as some have stated above.


    EDIT: A Netgear mod posted specs as being 256 MB flash.
    https://community.netgear.com/t5/Ni...awk-Pro-Gaming-WiFI-Router-XR500/td-p/1481350
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2018
  20. Killhippie

    Killhippie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    UK
    Maybe the new firmware wont have so many really bad bugs and ancient GPL like Netgears does presently, that's what I am hoping. Bugs like not letting QoS set priority for some users or wifi password who have a certain password length/type a weird bug where some 63 character ASCII passwords work and some don't (fine in previous versions since release firmware) :rolleyes: This is being fixed at the end of February, which is a long time to wait.

    As to router ram, Netgear stated the DG3700V2 on the box had 128 mb ram but the router actually had 64mb, and even though they knew this Netgear never changed the information on the box, which in the UK is really false advertising. I guess the xr500 needs the extra ram for the new OS and GUI and 'gaming' features. I will be interested to see how it works in real world use...
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2018
  21. doc octopus

    doc octopus Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Bologna, Italy
    does it have time scheduling for every connected device?
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!