What's new

Lower Network Speed on RT-AC86U with 386.1

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

shelleyevans

Regular Contributor
I have been running a Merlin-powered network for a few years-- my main router is RT-AC86U, with two nodes, RT-AC68U and RT-AC66U_B1. I have gigabit internet (Docsis 3.1 modem) to the house, rated at 1200/35, but typically running at about 900/50, when I measure at the modem. In spite of those numbers, I have learned the hard way that QoS is hugely important to me-- without it enabled my VOIP and business video meetings are terrible. I use adaptive QoS with manual bandwidth settings, usually most stable when I set it at 650/35.

When I first set up the network several years ago, I ran a router with two extenders (one ethernet and one moca-ethernet), but found that maintaining that network was difficult for me, especially when someone in my family complained about slow speeds or devices getting stuck on the wrong node. So, when Merlin's beta for Aimesh 2.0 dropped, I installed it. Thrilling!!! The mesh seemed, for the first time, to be rock-solid, and so easy to administer. I installed the release and found it to be even better-- nodes adding without difficulty, my IoT devices not getting lost on reboots. The GUI seems to work really well. But I noticed that my speeds have dropped somewhat dramatically, from the usual 900/50 to 600/50 on average, but sometimes even less.