What's new

New AC88U issues, DNS & WiFi Chan

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Gt3911

New Around Here
Hi all,

First of all, quite a noob here, please bare with me.

I recently upgraded my N66U to a AC88U. I've been noticing some hesitance when establishing connections. It just hasn't felt quite... right? Some consistent examples would be;
-A silly phone game I play requires me to watch some adverts to get a daily boost, it would struggle to find ads (never on the 66u) I only thought it was the game until it noticed I can turn off wifi and find new ads almost instantly on the 4g.
- My smart tv would really struggle in a similar way to launch ondemand content.
- My phone would have huge lag to give me a delivery tick occasionally on messages sent out, wifi off, instant tick.
- General hesitance while on the web.

I decided to look how my N66U config varied from my AC88U and I discovered a setting in the 66 that to my knowledge is "wrong" but as my understanding is basic I thought I'd give it a go.
Using 8.8.8.8 in LAN DHCP server.
I have my DNS set in WAN with 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4...

The weird thing is - This worked? My game has unlimted instant adds again. I removed the setting from (it was blank back to blank) and my ads took a lot of thinking about to appear.

I don't really understand that. What should the LAN DHCP servers DNS be configured too? Does this behaviour and fix make sense?

-