What's new

New NAS Build

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

christmas_jones

New Around Here
Hi All

Newbie here, so be gentle.

I am looking at building a new NAS for home use, mainly for storage and media streaming. I am a long time user of off the shelf NAS system from QNAP and WD but the DIY approach is new to me. I am planning on installing FreeNAS or NAS4Free.

The system must be energy/power efficient as it will probably be idle for long periods of time. To get an idea of power usage I have been comparing it to one of the new four bay QNAP’s. 29W idle 48W in use.

The system will mainly be used for storage and media streaming with Plex media server installed. There will be need for any transcode as everything is local to the network with no mobile devices being used.

So I could do with some help in knowing which board and CPU would us the least amount of electric.

AsRock C2550D41 or C2750D41
Or
AsRock E3C226D2I with an i3 4130 CPU

If there are any other board/CPU’s out there that maybe better then please let me know. Any help would be appreciated

I'd consider going with a Haswell Celeron or pentium processor instead of the i3. Saves just an intsy bit more power and costs less. I am looking at going the opposite direction (and going with an i3) as I occasionally have need for medium weight applications to run on my processor, but I run a G1610 Celeron right now and it works extremely well for iTunes server, Calibre server, file serving and backups as well as a few other minor things.