Release New RT-AX88U firmware 3.0.0.4.386.42095

  • ATTENTION! As of November 1, 2020, you are not able to reply to threads 6 months after the thread is opened if there are more than 500 posts in the thread.
    Threads will not be locked, so posts may still be edited by their authors.
    Just start a new thread on the topic to post if you get an error message when trying to reply to a thread.

FTC

Senior Member
Just saw it posted in ASUS official RT-AX88U web site :

2021/03/03 69.67 MBytes

ASUS RT-AX88U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.386.42095

- Fixed CVE-2020-25681, CVE-2020-25682, CVE-2020-25683, CVE-2020-25687, CVE-2020-25684, CVE-2020-25685, CVE-2020-25686
- Added more icons to the client list
- Improved connection stability
 

MatynK

Occasional Visitor
I have looked all over to try and find better release notes for this version, but I could not find anything.
 

juched

Senior Member
If anyone has installed this and using Guest Network Slot #1 with no intranet access, can you confirm if the "buggy protocol" error message is gone from the logs?

Just curious.
 

brummygit

Very Senior Member
I think 386.41994 must be a very good firmware as we don't seem to have anyone rushing to install this new version and report back :)
 

Calkulin

Regular Contributor
41994 seemed about the same as 41700, just with the DNS fixes. While good, still had minor issues though, especially on my AX88U. But I do see Merlin did just start adding in this GPL to his repo, so it will start to get tested extensively when the next 386.2 alpha build drops,
 

LimJK

Very Senior Member
I have been running smoothly with Stock 3.0.0.4_386_42095-gcd938f7 for about 2 hours.

My Configuration:
  • AiMesh Router: AX88U 3.0.0.4_386_42095-gcd938f7 + 2 x AiMesh Nodes: AC86U 9.0.0.4_386_41994-g769f84f
  • Backhaul (Priority:"Auto", Type:"Wired"), Asus GX-U1051 5-Port Gigabit Switch from Router to Nodes, ISP: 1 Gbps Fibre
After Upgrading Firmware for AX88U to 3.0.0.4_386_42095-gcd938f7 from 386.2_alpha1-gc52b410e89, I did Factory reset for AiMesh Nodes first, followed by Router and use Stock default NVRAM settings except with the following changes:
  • Enabled AiProtection: ON
  • USB Application
    • UPnP Media Server: OFF
    • Samba Share: OFF
  • LAN:
    • 40 items in my DHCP manually Assigned IP List
  • Wireless:
    • 2.4 GHz: Fixed Channel Bandwidth 20MHz, Control Channel: Auto, Universal Beamforming: Disable
    • 5.0 GHz: Fixed Channel Bandwidth 80MHz, Control Channel: Auto
  • 5GHz Guest Network (1) with Sync All Nodes on
    • No “Kernel: protocol 0800 is buggy”
  • WAN DDNS:
    • Using Asus DDNS Service with Let’s Encrypt
  • VPN Servers (Connecting one at a time from the following clients):
    • OpenVPN works with
      • MacBookPro macOS Catalina - Tunnelblick 3.8.5beta05 (build 5650),
      • iPhoneXsMax iOS - OpenVPN Connect 3.2.3
    • IPSec works with MacBookPro & iPhoneXsMax Native Configurations
      • Cisco IPSec
      • IKEv2 (while connection works, there is not Status information on IPSec VPN Server)
    • Instant Guard works with iPhoneXsMax iOS Instant Guard 1.1.3 (TestFlight Version)
 

brummygit

Very Senior Member
I have been running smoothly with Stock 3.0.0.4_386_42095-gcd938f7 for about 2 hours.

  • 5GHz Guest Network (1) with Sync All Nodes on
    • No “Kernel: protocol 0800 is buggy”
That sounds promising
 

LimJK

Very Senior Member
That sounds promising
brummygit,
:) I have been running it for about 11 hours; I decided to test this stock version last night before I move back to Merlin's newer Alpha later today when I got back home.
 

Damit1

Occasional Visitor
Tried right here for about 12 hours and rushed to revert back.

Had WiFi crashes after few hours router running, and for the first time a FW is so bad for me- it actually disconnect my AX88U unit I have as Mesh.

Have few friends report same issue
 
Last edited:

Gravityz

Senior Member
upgraded it from 41700.
did a power cycle after 1 hour.
sofar things are running fine.

i do not believe we need to do afactory reset every time, especially when coming from a 386 official, non beta, firmware

surely Asus made these firmwares to install as an upgrade so it should function correctly if installed like that.

sure if i get weird results then i might do afactory reset by i am expecting that everything will run smoothly
 

mteicher

Regular Contributor
upgraded it from 41700.
did a power cycle after 1 hour.
sofar things are running fine.

i do not believe we need to do afactory reset every time, especially when coming from a 386 official, non beta, firmware

surely Asus made these firmwares to install as an upgrade so it should function correctly if installed like that.

sure if i get weird results then i might do afactory reset by i am expecting that everything will run smoothly
Six hours ago I upgraded from 41700 and so far not a single issue and nothing out of the ordinary in the logs.
 

Mattias

Regular Contributor
I get on this firmware these issues:
Mar 6 22:10:13 kernel: eth0 (Int switch port: 3) (Logical Port: 3) (phyId: c) Link DOWN.
Mar 6 22:10:14 WAN Connection: ISP's DHCP did not function properly.

Beta version I did not see it. Only way to fix it is to restart asus. Very annoying! :(
 

glion96

New Around Here
I installed 3.0.0.4.386.42095 this morning and immediately my WAN light went red and Internet connectivity slowed to a crawl - streaming services started to repeatedly rebuffer. I rebooted my cable modem and the RT-AX88U but nothing helped. I reinstalled the last firmware version 3.0.0.4.386.41700 and everything is working again - no red light, no Internet slowness, no rebuffering.
 

MatynK

Occasional Visitor

Gravityz

Senior Member
regarding WAN issues.
i have my DHCP query frequency on normal (standard is aggresive i believe)

i konw this setting helped me in the past so i always keep it on normal
 

neil0311

Senior Member
Dirty flash from beta 41994 to release 42095. No issues so far. WAN aggregation working and 160MHz WiFi 6 working well.

My connection tops at 1.2Gbps, and my laptop hit full speed via WiFi. 44C6130C-66A9-4EB6-B367-672ED644872F.jpeg
 

neil0311

Senior Member
The only thing I'm seeing in the log is this:

Mar 7 10:02:09 kernel: XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX not mesh client, can't update it's ip

I don't have mesh configured at all. No routers or clients or anything mesh related. Anyone know what this is?
 

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top