What's new

New to NAS - Semi Power User

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

cg5000

New Around Here
Hi everybody,

First, thanks for taking the time to read this and post your comments. I'm new to NAS, but pretty savvy with computers. I like to build PC's, but have no experience with RAID either. So that you know too, I am new to databases and installing them (mentioning this cause I know some of these NAS devices require an SQL install?)

About my use of my machine - (So that I can get the best feedback, I think its important for me to acclimate you with my use of the computers I have here.)

I built my machine here (Intel Core i7, Windows 7, 12GB Ram, 10K RPM C Drive, secondary drive just for files called the "D" drive., etc.) I have a "20MB" cable connection via COMCAST for internet. It's A nice machine (yes, I have a loving relationship with it lol) designed really as a workstation and gaming machine. I do mostly multimedia stuff on this machine.

I handle I.T. and web related projects for several non-techy clients, backup my DVDs to a hard drive (My D Drive), store audio there (and other files) do some light video editing (on files stored on this drive, etc.) My C drive is just for programs and OS.