What's new

New ZenWifi XT8 user with issues

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

AlexXT8

New Around Here
Hi all. I'm new to home networking and everything, just moved into a house. My ISP provides a modem/router that I'm stuck with. It sits in the basement, right next to the outlets for all the Cat6 cables I have running through the house, but where wifi is completely blocked off. I have therefore plopped an Asus ZenWifi XT8 in my living room, connected it to the modem via Ethernet, and placed the other antenna on the top floor. Things seemed fine at first. I have 1 Gbps fiber and I'm getting over anywhere from 200 to 700 Mbps down in wifi depending on where I am in the house, which worked well enough for me. Then the issues began:
  1. I connected a NAS to the network (Synology DS420+) and quickly realized that if I connect it via ethernet to the ISP router, anything on the wifi network can't see it. I do some research and put the mesh in AP mode. This allows my wired and wireless devices to communicate, but from then on the network starts disconnecting at random intervals for random durations. The problem isn't the NAS because this happens even when I disconnect it. The problem disappears if I put the mesh back in router mode. Has anyone encountered this? I'd really like to be able to use AP mode reliably.