What's new

Newbie Building a network

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

dawng

New Around Here
Hi I am looking for some help building a network. I will explain as much as I can as I am a newbie at networking.

I have 2 buildings which are about 50 ft apart. building 1 has line of sight Internet hooked up to a Dlink router. Building 2 has a cat 5 cable running from linksys router to dlink router in building 1. now I have bought a new dlink wireless AC router. What I'm wondering is to get the best performance in building 2, do I put the new router in building 1 hooked to main Internet supply or building 2 replacing linksys router??

I would really appreciate anyone's advice. And remember I'm new to this so I probably won't understand to much technical terms.

Thanks

Hi I am looking for some help building a network. I will explain as much as I can as I am a newbie at networking.

I have 2 buildings which are about 50 ft apart. building 1 has line of sight Internet hooked up to a Dlink router. Building 2 has a cat 5 cable running from linksys router to dlink router in building 1. now I have bought a new dlink wireless AC router. What I'm wondering is to get the best performance in building 2, do I put the new router in building 1 hooked to main Internet supply or building 2 replacing linksys router??

I would really appreciate anyone's advice. And remember I'm new to this so I probably won't understand to much technical terms.

Thanks

Is the line of sight connection in building 1 coming from your ISP or a local MacDonalds? Is that your main service in? I will assume it is.

If you have a wire between the two buildings, all you need is a good switch in building 2.