What's new

Newbie questions on Diversion, DoT, DNScrpyt and RAM usage

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Lukas

New Around Here
Hey guys,

first of all thank you guys, fo the great plugins and the amazing forum here. I have been reading quite a bit since I am really new to everything here.

I've recently got myself a AC86U, since I moved to a new flat and wanted to secure my internet better and just have better options.

So far I have the following setup:
On my router I have the latest firmware, installed Diversion and Skynet. I also have a VPN client setup on the router with NordVPN. And I would like to use DoT, so I set it up via the WAN settings with custom DNS (Using Cleanbrowsing as of safety, though thinking about Cloudflare). On the Router I edited the dnsmasq, so I can get to my local unraid server via custom domains. In the LAN settings I have setup the DNS Server as my router IP.
I also have a Raspberry running an OpenVPN server so I can connect to the network from the outside.

I do have a few questions and hope you can help me:
  1. After installing Skynet my RAM usage now hit 78%, did I do something wrong or is that normal and does it impact the Router negatively? Also my CPU cores seem to be working more now.
  2. Sometimes it seems my DNS is still using the VPN DNS and then it seems I do not get any ad blocking, which setting could be responsible for that? After a reboot it usually is fine then again. -> Should be fixed