Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

No internet on NAS

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by RHCPNG, Oct 12, 2017.

  1. RHCPNG

    RHCPNG New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Hi Guys,

    I'm having a very strange problem and can't get it resolved. I have a RT-AC88U router and have been fiddling around with setting up a VPN client. I wanted my NAS traffic to go through the VPN tunnel, but I couldn't get it to work.

    Now I have deactivated the VPN client, but there is no way getting internet to work on my NAS again. I have put all configuration back to how it was, but it will not work. I have restarted the NAS and router and set all configurations back to the way they were, but no luck.

    I'm staring to think the router is keeping some routing information in cache or something.

    I can ping the router from my NAS, but I can't ping any outside websites. When I do a traceroute I get the following:

    traceroute to www.google.com (216.58.211.100), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
    1 RT-AC88U-0D58.home (192.168.1.1) 0.272 ms !X 0.581 ms !X 0.571 ms !X

    I also tried changing DNS servers with no luck.

    Does anybody have an idea how to resolve this issue?

    UPDATE

    This is my output of "host www.google.com":

    www.google.com has address 216.58.212.164
    www.google.com has IPv6 address 2a00:1450:400e:801::2004

    So this let's me to believe DNS is not a problem.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
  2. Jack Yaz

    Jack Yaz Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    621
    On the VPN client, disable "block WAN access if tunnel goes down", then save. I've found even with the VPN client disabled, the WAN blocking still takes effect. @RMerlin tagging you in case you have some insight on this
     
    RHCPNG and thelonelycoder like this.
  3. RHCPNG

    RHCPNG New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Wow, that was fast. This resolved it for me. Had me busy for days!

    I will raise an issue for Merlin, if it isn't done already.

    Thanks a lot! Don't know if I figured this one out.
     
    Jack Yaz likes this.
  4. Jack Yaz

    Jack Yaz Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    621
    It's caused me many a headache when fiddling with alternative client configurations. I really should have posted on forums about it sooner!
     

Share This Page