What's new

not sure why but devices are loosing connection and can't get it back

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

sparks

Occasional Visitor
Since 380.69.2 things like wired roku and wireless amazon firestick are being dropped from the network and after being dropped can not find the network except by a hard reset.
Today on 384.3 beta 1...yes I have not upgraded yet, my windows media center was dropped and when disconnecting the network adapter and enabling it did find the network and reconnect.
What is causing all this disconnecting? The lease time is default.
I have tried assigning ip around dhcp and assigning static ip but it is still dropped and can not reconnect without a hard reset.
Does anyone know what I need to do, I am no expert.

Wireless problems are almost impossible to diagnose because of all the variables. However, you say you have the same problem with your wired Roku which would eliminate all potential wireless issues. So concentrate on getting the Roku to work.

What do you mean exactly when you say the Roku is "dropped" from the network. Can you see anything in the router's syslog at the time this happens?

anywhere from 8 hrs to a day after connecting to the network the roku will disappear from the client list.
Going to the Roku and its off the network, in the roku settings trying to reconnect to the network does nothing.
Only by power reboot will it reconnect to the network.

I thought it was only the roku and it was some quirk, then the firestick was being dropped and could not find the network except by a reboot.

Then today with the media center computer losing network I was blown away.

Just to clarify: when you say “power reboot”, that’s a reboot of the router, not the Roku?