What's new

Novice wandering into WiMAX

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

VicLaw

New Around Here
Because of spotty wireless performance when surfing while music is streaming and planning for future video I have just finishing pulling Cat 6 cable through the house. I was also was thinking of buying the Netgear WNDR 3700 but would be grateful for any recommendations.

I am a AT&T DSL subscriber using the gov issued 2Wire 2701HG B wireless router. I have not seen any tests on the 2Wire so I don’t know if I can expect performance improvement through equipment change. As a novice my question is what should I change modem, router or both?

What really prompts me to write is that I’m in Chicago and today I saw WiMAX by CLEAR.com, they claim higher throughput for less money. The service is only available in about 25 cities so does anyone here have any experience with this company or technology?

If the service is good what router is recommended to handle 6 Mbps and bursts over 10 Mbps?

Thaks for any help and I hpoe I posted this in the correct section.

Depends on what you mean by "spotty" performance. Can you provide more details?

Why would you want wireless Internet vs DSL?

Occasionally I have dropouts when wireless music is streaming to the iPod Touch it is more prevalent when I’m logged on the internet. I don’t understand why this is a problem because the modem is upstairs no more than 30 ft away (one wall and floor construction between them). After I rewire the modem will be in the basement directly below the entertainment unit.