1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

NTP blocked; Alternatives to ntpd for updating time?

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by jarmka, May 10, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jarmka

    jarmka Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    I'm having some issues syncing time... I'm curious if there are other apps or methods available that can do this along side ntp. Thanks!
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2018
    dugaduga likes this.
  2. jarmka

    jarmka Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    I've input the ip manually and it still doesn't get past it;
     
    dugaduga likes this.
  3. jarmka

    jarmka Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    I simply put under firewall-start
    nvram set ntp_ready=1
    nvram commit
    Till further notice I will update the time manually by hand.
     
    dugaduga likes this.
  4. c84

    c84 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Europe, NO
    You can use GPS-data to fetch the time, you can fetch it off local devices, but there's no option for this in the shell alone. I can't remember since this was waaaay back.
     
    jarmka likes this.
  5. jarmka

    jarmka Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    i know its possible to run an ntp server on a pc for example though id like to be able to simply receive the time from the router only, and a website or something; for example, a simple script pointing to a text file on a website with a list of up-to-date time codes based on time zone with the format "date -s "2018-05-10 18:58" would work and make it nearly impossible for an isp to block ntp.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2018
    dugaduga likes this.
  6. cmkelley

    cmkelley Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    862
    Location:
    Greater Los Angeles Area, California, USizicstania
    Your ISP is blocking ntp? Wow, that seems ... pointless.

    I followed these instructions to create an NTP server running on a Raspberry Pi using this GPS board. It only took me about 1/2 day of fiddling to get it working.

    Otherwise, a little bit of googling reveals there is a timestamp on http headers, so perhaps you can find a way to use that information from a server you trust?
     
    netmik3 likes this.
  7. KevTech

    KevTech Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Location:
    United States
    Not sure why NTP would be blocked although I do know that if you query the NTP servers too much they will temporary block your IP address.
     
  8. c84

    c84 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Europe, NO
  9. cmkelley

    cmkelley Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    862
    Location:
    Greater Los Angeles Area, California, USizicstania
    From the bit of googling I did, it would seem that blocking ntp is not as uncommon as you might think outside of the U.S.
     
  10. c84

    c84 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Europe, NO
    I found that one guy in Denmark had NTP blocked off, that's really weird. That's due to ISP, has nothing to do with the law. Could have been due to the attacks on NTPD's when they found a bug.
     
  11. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,859
    Location:
    UK
    c84, Beherit and DonnyJohnny like this.
  12. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,619
    Location:
    Canada
    Highly unlikely that an ISP would block NTP, considering that tons of client devices rely on it, including Windows PCs.
     
    joegreat likes this.
  13. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,859
    Location:
    UK
    There was an unusual case reported of AT&T blocking NTP, but that's not something that would suddenly start happening.
     
  14. cmkelley

    cmkelley Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    862
    Location:
    Greater Los Angeles Area, California, USizicstania
    I gave up on relying on logic a long time ago. :) Bizarre stuff happens.
     
  15. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,619
    Location:
    Canada
    Probably just a mistake, like how they recently blocked Cloudflare's DNS servers. Makes me wonder if their net admins know what they are doing...
     
  16. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,859
    Location:
    UK
    Well they're still saying they're blocking it on their web site. Fortunately I'm not one of their customers.
     
  17. MasterBash

    MasterBash Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    In our dorm room we had a guy who never did anything network related take care of the network for our dorm. Needless to say, NTP was blocked and buffer bloat was more than horrible. He also tried to transmit 100 Mbps to rooms through cat3 cables and we got massive packet loss.

    So ya, it does happen when you have a joke taking care of those kind of things.
     
  18. jarmka

    jarmka Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    The only blocking that takes place is once skynet is initiated... skynet won't load unless ntp is already working. as for the rest I have disabled other mods that could be causing it without any success; I'll keep on digging maybe I overlooked something.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2018
  19. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,619
    Location:
    Canada
    If they truly deliberately block it, then they are run by idiots, plain and simple.

    (sorry for the bluntness if you actually work for them, but this is a plain stupid policy, that will break tons of embedded devices).
     
    dugaduga, jarmka and c84 like this.
  20. c84

    c84 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Europe, NO
    I can't take you seriously when you're taking someone elses code and then publishing it as your own. Like parts of Skynet.
    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/p...ts-access-to-unique-country-block-code.46560/

    Open-source is open-source but taking credit from taking parts of another's code is a big NO.
     
    Beherit likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.