What's new

One PKI for multiple servers (openvpn + webui + pixelserv-tls)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

truglodite

Regular Contributor
I have been getting my cranial signals crossed learning the ins/outs of SSL, as it relates to openvpn vs merlin webui. I need a few questions answered to help straighten my course. ...this is just for my home, n66u 380.67, with only a handful of family only devices connecting.

Right now my openvpn server (on merlin) is working well after a basic gui setup, but I'm studying on upgrading to individual client PKI pairs with easyrsa. The https webui requires extra clicks to access with a red lock... annoying. I'm only accessing the webui from one lan machine, but it would be nice to greenify it, rather than (-half donkey-) http it.

Can I safely use a single PKI (same ca) to build files for both openvpn and webui (and pixelserv-tls), or should I setup a separate PKI for each server? (I'm always interested in the perform:secure reasoning.)

For ovpn, my understanding is I would paste my server keys/certs in the openvpn server gui (say, 'server1'), then setup/export/modify custom client configs that point to the key/crt files on the clients, correct? What happens with of the user/passwords listed in the gui?

For the webgui, I presume I use easyrsa\build-key-server again (cn = 'server2'), then copy/paste contents over the router's existing persistent webui pair (in /jffs/ssl). What about the client end... no export button? (lol j/k)... do I just have the os trust the root cert? Again, only 1 lan wired rig will ever need to access it.