What's new

OpenVPN - Merlin 380.67 on RT-AC3100

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

armsAC3100

Regular Contributor
I have configured my RT-AC3100 to provide OpenVPN Server support. I am new to OpenVPN and have what may be a "dumb user" question. I had configured an OpenVPN server and was able to set up off network access from my Windows 10 PC, Android phone and Android tablet.
After updating from 380.66 to 380.67 my OpenVPN access stopped working on all three devices. I had to download / install a new OPVN file on my PC and Android devices to get VPN access working again.
Is this normal operation and something that must be done each time to router firmware is updated or was this unique to the 380.68 update?
Not a big problem as long as I know ahead of time what to expect and can plan the steps.

Al

Is this normal operation and something that must be done each time to router firmware is updated or was this unique to the 380.68 update?

It shouldn't. Chances are something changed, possibly your WAN IP (if you don't use a DDNS).

It shouldn't. Chances are something Thanks, possibly your WAN IP (if you don't use a DDNS).

Thanks. I do have a DDNS service that is related to my NAS. The NAS had a major firmware and Certificate update between the two router updates and / VPN configurations. Perhaps that can explain change. I'll keep closer track the next time. The VPN server performance surprised me. I only lost a bit over 15% on downloads accessing DSL reports speed test (85+ Mbps vs 100+ Mbps) vs direct connection. Uploads were the same at 25 Mbps.

Thanks for the great firmware !
Regards, Al