What's new

OpenVPN with Networked Drive

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Pabla

Regular Contributor
Hello all, I am fairly new to OpenVPN and have been using it fine for the past year to access my local network when away. My initial use for the VPN or 'Traffic Tunnel' as others may call it, was to be able to stream movies off my HDD connected to my RT-AC3100 running Merlin 384.19. I use an application called Infuse which is similar to Plex where all the encoding happens locally on the device itself, and I am using NFS to connect to the drive. The issue I've been running into is when I am in the same IP pool as my home network I am not able to connect to my HDD located at 192.168.1.1. The only solution I can think of is changing my homes subnet, but that's a fairly lengthy task since I have a lot of devices on my home talking locally to each other based on their IPs. Is there a sort of band-aid solution where I can still stream movies through my VPN while on the same subnet as my home network, or am I forced to change my homes subnet to something different to avoid and conflicts? Tia!