What's new

Opinions on EdgeRouter X?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

wayner

Regular Contributor
I have been running Asus routers with Merlin for many years now but I am considering trying a Ubiquiti EdgeRouter X - they look like a good deal for $50. I have a bunch of Ubiquiti Unifi APs in my house and I run the Unifi Controller software on my unRAID server in a docker container. So the Ubiquiti router should nicely integrate into the controller software. And I don't need or even want Wifi on the router itself since I have the APs in strategic locations around my house and the best spot for the router, in the basement by my ethernet wiring, is the worst place for a WAP.

My internet is currently marketed at 250/20 but tests at 325/22. I may upgrade to 1000/50. Can this router handle WAN-LAN throughput of that speed in practical applications?

I really like being able to run OpenVPN server on my router and I have done so for several years with my router and Merlin. Can you run OpenVPN server on this router?

The Unifi Controller 5.4.9 software has a nice dashboard but I only use the Wifi portion of this. If I get a EdgeRouter will it populate the LAN, WAN, etc sections of the dashboard?

Wait a bit before pulling the trigger - there's a pending review on the ERL3, along with the updated EdgeOS software.

What's the diff between the ERL3 and the X? The X has more ports and supposedly has 5Gbps ports vs 3Gbps ports on the ERL3. But the ERL3 seems better in other ways.

edit - For that matter what's the diff between the USG, ERL3 and X?

Last edited:
What's the diff between the ERL3 and the X? The X has more ports and supposedly has 5Gbps ports vs 3Gbps ports on the ERL3. But the ERL3 seems better in other ways.