1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Please can someone advise.... AC88U Issues

Discussion in 'Routers' started by iamSteve, Mar 19, 2019.

  1. iamSteve

    iamSteve New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    I have just changed my router from a N66U to a AC88U and restored from a back up to save time.

    I have been having issues with devices not been able to connect to the internet from time to time and on 2 occasions not been able to connect at all and the 5g wifi light is off. I have attached a log if you can please advise on any anomalies and causes you can see.

    Thank you very much for your time.

    Steve.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ken Atkinson

    Ken Atkinson Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    If you restored a backup from the N66u to the 88u that will be your issue a new different model needs to be setup from scratch, factory reset and setup manually, good luck


    Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
     
    L&LD likes this.
  3. microchip

    microchip Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    Belgium
    Seriously? Restoring from backup across totally different models? Don't, just don't!
     
    L&LD likes this.
  4. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,597
    You are causing yourself self-inflicted issues. :)

    See the links below (in my signature) to do a proper reset to factory defaults so that your new router has a chance to operate as it should (from a good/known state that the reset will put it to).
     
  5. iamSteve

    iamSteve New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for the advice. I did not expect the backup restore to work but when it did and saved me a days work setting up everything including the many Mac assigned ip addresses I was happy, but it does appear to cause issues.

    Shame the backup can’t be easily edited so I could just keep the ip addressing of devices.

    It’s strange how it will work for a day without issue.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2019
  6. iamSteve

    iamSteve New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Please can I add on an AiMesh question.

    Will a AiMesh router on my system allow the guest and main Wi-fi networks on both 2.4 and 5 networks work correctly, ie a mesh login on a secondary router will have guest 2.4 and 5 as well as allowing access to my main Wi-fi on 2.4 and 5.
     
  7. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,597
    My information is that the guest network only works on the main router. The 'nodes' are not included. Maybe, a firmware update can fix this issue. But until it is introduced and proven, I wouldn't count on this if a purchase decision depends on the feature soon.
     
  8. speedingcheetah

    speedingcheetah Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    474
    Location:
    MN
    I just save all that info to a .TXT doc.
    At one point, I had about 30 Static address.
    It only takes a few minutes to copy and paste the info (IP, MAC, hostname) into the fields and save.
    I also put in the doc the other info as to SSID and password and other settings.
    Only took me maybe 20 min to setup the router from scratch this way...not as fast as restoring from config backup, but saves time in the end not having to deal with any issues later on.
     
    L&LD likes this.