What's new

Plex Port Forwarding via ASUS RT-AC86U with Shaw XB7(Bridged)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Sonicmojo

Regular Contributor
Up here in the Great White North - we are with Shaw (Calgary) - using the Technicolor CGM4331COM (XB7) gateway in bridged mode.

The RT-AC86U is using Merlin 386.7

All internet traffic flows from the LAN out to my ASUS RT-AC86U and then out to the world via the XB7. General networking has been rock solid and I have not had a need to even log into the XB7 for months and months.

I have been running Plex on the LAN for at least 2 years and I am now experimenting with a wider reach for it by allowing external access to phones etc from the outside world.

But for the life of me - I am hitting a total brick wall on getting Plex port forwarding working. I have read tutorial after tutorial, post after post and I have the required port (32400) setup correctly on the ASUS. I have a DHCP Reservation in place for my Plex server and everything else is in place - however as soon as I hit Enable Remote Access in Plex - I get the nice "green" message saying “Fully Accessible Outside Your Network” for just about 5 seconds and then it reverts back to the nasty "red/warning" - “Not available outside your local network”

I have checked port 32400 from the actual Plex server using several tools and all of them keep telling me that 32400 is closed. Windows firewall (as far as I can see) is allowing all port activity from Plex Media Server and the ASUS is setup and as ready as it can be.