1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Port-Forwarding missing data (RT-AC68U-Merlin384.12)

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by marius_rg, Jul 18, 2019.

  1. marius_rg

    marius_rg New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Hi guys,

    since the recent FWs my port fw list has been empty and no matter what I add, when I go back or refresh the page, the newly added entry is again missing.

    If I do from ssh "nvram get vts_rulelist" it doesn't show anything.

    Thank you.
     
  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,079
    Location:
    UK
    Maybe you've run out of free space in NVRAM. Check it on the Tools - System Information page.
     
  3. marius_rg

    marius_rg New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Ohh yes, you got it right.
    NVRAM usage 65538 / 65536 bytes

    Ho to make some more space here?
     
  4. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,079
    Location:
    UK
    A factory default reset followed by manually configuring it. :(
     
  5. marius_rg

    marius_rg New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Ohh crap, really? Only this is the solution? :) Awesome!!!
     
  6. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,079
    Location:
    UK
    It's the only way to be sure.
     
  7. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,827
    Location:
    Canada
    If you ever used OpenVPN in the past, there might be some leftovers key/certs wasting nvram space (as these are now stored in the jffs partition).

    Create the following script on your router and run it to remove these from nvram.

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    echo "Removing unused cert/key from nvram..."
    
    for i in 1 2 3 4 5
    do
        nvram unset vpn_crt_client$i\_ca
        nvram unset vpn_crt_client$i\_extra
        nvram unset vpn_crt_client$i\_crt
        nvram unset vpn_crt_client$i\_key
        nvram unset vpn_crt_client$i\_crl
        nvram unset vpn_crt_client$i\_static
    done
    
    for i in 1 2
    do
        nvram unset vpn_crt_server$i\_ca
        nvram unset vpn_crt_server$i\_dh
        nvram unset vpn_crt_server$i\_ca_key
        nvram unset vpn_crt_server$i\_extra
        nvram unset vpn_crt_server$i\_client_crt
        nvram unset vpn_crt_server$i\_crl
        nvram unset vpn_crt_server$i\_crt
        nvram unset vpn_crt_server$i\_key
        nvram unset vpn_crt_server$i\_static
        nvram unset vpn_crt_server$i\_client_key
    done
    
    nvram commit
    
    echo "done."
    
     
  8. marius_rg

    marius_rg New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you, that cleared a bit the usage

    NVRAM usage
    54267 / 65536 bytes
     
  9. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,827
    Location:
    Canada
    That should be confortable enough for regular usage, as long you don't enter a lot of DHCP static leases with long hostnames.