What's new

Port Forwarding when Connected to VPN

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Saturnine

New Around Here
Hello,

I should start out by saying I'm a network engineer. I should be able to work this out myself but to my discredit, I'm struggling a bit...

My 86U is permanently connected to a VPN service. In addition, I've set up a port-forward to a local web server on my LAN.

When the VPN is disconnected, the port forwarding works perfectly and I'm able to access the web server from a remote location. Once I connect the VPN, this stops working.

I have DDNS set up so that the 'real' external IP of my router is always placed in DNS. It would be pointless to use the VPN IP since my provider doesn't support port forwarding anyway.

What I believe is happening is that my HTTP requests are reaching the web server, which is responding however the router then routes the return packets through the VPN tunnel instead of directly out of the WAN interface. This asymmetry is causing the connection to fail.

In a work environment I would get around this by setting up some form of SNAT from the router to the webserver but I can't seem to figure out how to do that on the 86U.

Has anybody got any ideas?

Thanks.

What I believe is happening is that my HTTP requests are reaching the web server, which is responding however the router then routes the return packets through the VPN tunnel instead of directly out of the WAN interface. This asymmetry is causing the connection to fail.
Your assumption is correct. You need to setup the policy based routing in the VPN to exclude the web server.

Hi Colin,

I've already done a bit of that. My PBR is that the router itself goes straight out. Anything on the LAN subnet gets routed down the tunnel.