What's new

Possible improvements to dual WAN fail-over function

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Nerre

I will probably not have need for it now when I have fiber, but I though it might be an idea to start a topic about it to see how people would like to behave.

I have tried it with a 3G modem as secondary (fail-over) WAN connection and noted a few disappointing issues (and I tried to browse the source to see how things worked, but I'm not a programmer so I might have missed some points).

The primary issue is that fail-over seems to only switch WAN when the currently used WAN goes down. But I think most users would want to use the primary WAN whenever it is up, and only use the secondary when primary is down (because the secondary probably is slower, more expensive and/or might have traffic limits).

This means that the primary WAN connection would have to be regularly "probed" to find out when it goes up again. And this connects to the next issue.

A second issue is that the way the router detects WAN down seems to rely on the ethernet link status. Often the ethernet link is up but there is failed connection somewhere on the way to the internet (providers router down or something like that). So, there would be a need for a possibility to configure some kind of active probes (for example pinging an external host or pulling a page using wget or similar) to be able to assess the internet connection rather than the WAN ethernet link.