What's new

PPTP & OpenVPN Client

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

dtomsol

New Around Here
Good evening guys,

I'm not an expert by any means, so please bear with me. Hopefully I can explain what I'm looking to do so it makes sense to you guys.

The Asus N66U is running 3.0.0.4.270.25 (Merlin build). I am able to VPN using the PPTP server to access my router from abroad. However, I want to have the N66U acting as an OpenVPN client so that all outgoing traffic from my router is encrypted as well. Essentially I have:

Laptop>>>>PPTP Server to N66U>>>>N66U>>>>Ipredator OpenVPN>>>Internet

Whenever I enable the Ipredator OpenVPN client mode, I am unable to connect to my router via the PPTP server. Can the N66U be a PPTP server & OpenVPN client at the same time? The router will run both PPTP server & OpenVPN client at the same time with no problem, but when OpenVPN client mode is turned on....I'm unable to connect to the PPTP server from my laptop.

I know it's not ideal to have it set up this way, but this is what I'm looking to do if at all possible. If it is not possible, will I need two routers to set this up? Any guidance is greatly appreciated. I want to be able to go anywhere in the world and access my router, plus have all outgoing traffic from my router going through Ipredator. I know it's easy to just set up my laptop as a VPN client, but I'm hoping I can set it up the above referenced method.

Thank you all!

I would also like to know how to do this.
I cannot access my network from outside with OpenVPN server enable and at the same time has OpenVPN client enabled and connected to ipredator.