What's new
  • SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

OAM

New Around Here
Hi, I am a noob at this hence appreciate your patiene.

I have a Linksys EA6900 router running XWRT-Vortex (AsusWRT-Merlin port for Linksys). I have a wireless printer in the Guest wifi SSID (need this is guest network because my kids friends come over for studies and need access to printer). At the moment I cannot access this printer from by LAN. What do I need to change to access the printer from the systems on the LAN, but still maintain the Guest N/W isolation.

Many thanks in advance for help

OAM

You can't have both isolation and access.

You may be able to achieve this with VLAN's and scripting, but that will be for others to suggest.

Thank you L&LD. LoL! yes, Isolation and access are opposite poles, agreed. Pardon me for not being clear. I meant access from one direction ie LAN --> Guest N/E and isolation in other direction Guest N/W --> LAN.

Hoping to get more suggestions from others in the forum.

Thank you L&LD. LoL! yes, Isolation and access are opposite poles, agreed. Pardon me for not being clear. I meant access from one direction ie LAN --> Guest N/E and isolation in other direction Guest N/W --> LAN.

Hoping to get more suggestions from others in the forum.

Simple and easiet and sure way. Get a cheap WiFi printer and connect it to Guest network for guests to use it. Guest device should have printer driver.

Hi OAM, I had exactly the same case you describe, this is how I solved it.
I'll let the most experienced guys in the forum to assess how secure this setup actually is.
  1. Create a new guest network without isolation (Access Intranet = on)