1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Problem in the AIProtection RT-AX88U

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by router89, Apr 10, 2020.

  1. router89

    router89 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Messages:
    27
    Hello,

    I have an asus RT-AX88U router with the latest firmware 384.16.

    In the "AIProtection" preferences, the window is displayed incorrectly, the texts are shifted ... Is this normal ?

    [​IMG]

    Another problem, when I click on delete events, it comes back after... is it a bug ?
    This events are not permanently deleted...

    [​IMG]

    thank you in advance for your help !

    Best regards.
     
  2. martinr

    martinr Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,482
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Welcome to the forum.

    Have you tried a different browser?
     
    Vexira likes this.
  3. router89

    router89 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Messages:
    27
    On internet explorer, same problem as on Firefox :

    [​IMG]
     
  4. pinkfloyd1173

    pinkfloyd1173 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Hollywood,CA
    I had those issues when I had this router also, I tried a clean install of FW on it and still had issues plus other issues then what you are having.

    I returned mine, I think I got a lemon?
     
  5. router89

    router89 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Messages:
    27
    Thank you for that answer.

    I think rather of a bug of the interface in AIProtection because all the other options of the router work and are displayed perfectly therefore it is very bizzare.
     
  6. coolbeans2016

    coolbeans2016 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    On just about every Asus router I've run Merlin on since the RT-N66R(U) there is display issues that fix themselves by going back to Network Map or just clicking the refresh button multiple times until it does. I haven't paid attention to this part, mine is mainly when I'm clicking the WAN section it goes screwy...
    JUST CHECKED & mine displays exactly like yours...
    Had forgotten 2 set that part up. It accepted credentials fine though....
     
  7. router89

    router89 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Messages:
    27
    Thank you for that answer. Can you check on the AiProtection part if the problem is identical ?

    How should you do to bring this bug to merlin developers ?

    Yes the email account and password works, but the window is not displayed properly.

    Do you have a screenshot of your window identical ?
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2020
  8. coolbeans2016

    coolbeans2016 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Just reply with this same screenshot I guess. This one would not straighten out refreshing the page so it's actually the ONLY bug I've ever found, or you found......
    slc
     

    Attached Files:

  9. jass

    jass Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    First picture:
    I can confirm the same bug is still present in the newest stock 384.8118. This is problably a Asus or Trend bug, which Merlin can't do anything about since it's closed source... So therefore no point in complaining to him nor Asus, since they don't accept bug reports from people running Merlin...

    Second picture:
    The stats says 4 hits since 2019/10/23...
    In my case I havent had a single registered hit since 384.13. I believe they say Aiprotection should work, but I have not had any registered hits for months. Also Asus/Trend bug which Merlin can't do anything about...

    But since your Aiprotection stats says since 2019/10/23, I have to ask, and I know this is the most hated advise of all...

    Did you do a factory reset with the initialize box ticked and manually configured your router from scratch and NOT read in some old backup?

    If you had I can't really understand how your Aiprotection stats would be possible unless there are a new bug breaking the factory reset function present...
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2020
  10. router89

    router89 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Messages:
    27
    Exact, it is impossible to rafresh this window so the bug is still present.

    First picture :

    Thank you for that answer. So there is no solution to solve this problem ? Even by contacting Trend ?

    Second picture:

    I did not try to do a factory reset but I did not want just for that.
    I just did a try again, during a blocking of frodulous site if I click on delete the events, it comes back after, strange ... They are not deleted the first time

    the icons have changed since firmware 384.14, so there must be a bug with the new icons in the baskets, deletion events on version 384.16 ....

    Old firmware 384.14, old icons :

    [​IMG]

    deleting events does not work. I always have the events present after :

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2020
  11. jass

    jass Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    First picture:

    You could install stock fw and report it to Asus... Even though it seems very cumbersome. But the only way they ever will fix anything is if people do report the bugs to them...

    So even though I'm a hardcore Merlin fan, I usually do a testrun of new stock firmwares and report all the Asus/Trend bugs to Asus hoping that they will fix it in the next release. Since this in the long run also will give Merlin a better next startingpoint.


    Second Picture:

    As I said I havent had a Aiprotection stats hit in months. Now I'm in the prosess of testing the latest stock 384.8118 and not a single hit so far after 11 days. Which make me quite sure Asus still haven't fixed the Aiprotection bugs which been present for a long time now. This also means it won't be fixed in Merlin's fw for even longer, due to the delay in GPL releases from Asus.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2020
  12. coolbeans2016

    coolbeans2016 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Didn't catch that.... good catch.
    Whether it's necessary or not, I've never had issues with Merlin & I chalk it up to:
    Everytime Asus does a update release, I factory reset, load that, factory reset then load Merlin again & factory reset again. May seem cumbersome but code gets changed & each release of Merlin's has to start off of their's. Code can get "loopy" at best....
     
    Marin likes this.
  13. router89

    router89 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Messages:
    27
    Thank you both for your help.

    I just did the reset but the Trend window is shifted.

    After the reset, I don't know whether to activate these three parameters for the best performance :

    Activer IGMP Snooping : On or OFF
    Airtime Fairness : On or OFF ?
    Intervalle DTIM : What Value ?

    [​IMG]

    the smart connect option is also bizzare, is that normal ?

    [​IMG]

    before the reset the parameters was like this, I don't understand yet I hadn't changed anything :

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2020
  14. coolbeans2016

    coolbeans2016 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    IGMP Snooping = enabled

    DTIM = 1

    Airtime Fairness... I leave mine off. Unless you have other, quite a few people trying to do their internet stuff... & even then. My 2.4ghz is primarily dedicated to security like ALARM SYSTEM/CAMS/ETC... So 5ghz is split between me & my better 1/2.
     
  15. router89

    router89 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Messages:
    27
    thank you very much for this answer, it helps me a lot.

    Another question, when you install a new merlin firmware, you make each time a reset "Initialize your parameters and clear all the data logs for AiProtection, Traffic Analyzer and Web History." is that correct?

    a WPS reset is not enough ?

    [​IMG]