What's new

Problem with Asus RT-AC56U Router

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

francis73

New Around Here
Hi,
I have an Asus RT-AC56U router that I have been using for about 4 years with the DD-WRT pre-installed with which I use a VPN. For two days the Router continues to reboot itself every 5-10 minutes. I have tried using different VPN servers but nothing changes. I also monitored the temperature but it seems to me that it remains stable. Then, among other things, I tried to use it with the router turned off for many hours but the problem presents itself immediately.
You think:
1) it can be a hardware problem and therefore the router should I throw it away?

or

2) Could it be a conflict of some kind and therefore could be resolved by reinstalling the DD-WRT firmware?

Thank you.

1) Check with another power adaptor/source to see if that is the issue. One of the first things that go south. Also, it wouldn't hurt to check that the power switch is working and in good condition too. This model isn't known for a failing power switch, but who knows after all this time? :)

2) Do a fresh re-install of the firmware you're using including a factory reset before/after, formatting the JFFS partition, and even consecutively resetting via different methods too (pin reset, WPS reset, and GUI reset methods).

If the above doesn't give you a more stable router, consider using the @john9527's RMerlin fork (if just for testing purposes).

https://www.snbforums.com/threads/fork-asuswrt-merlin-374-43-lts-releases-v43e6.18914/