What's new

Problems with ASUS RT86U - Running Merlin, configuring USB Drive.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Richy1964

New Around Here
Hi,
I am new here but have been a reader of your forums for some time now. Hopefully this is the correct place to post this query, if not, please move and let me know.
I have searched and searched online for an answer to this but have only managed to draw a blank or been redirected back to the ASUS site, which to be honest is as much use as a chocolate fireguard.

I am a bit of a newbie to this networking so maybe I am just doing something stupid and you can point it out and make me feel like a complete tit!
Anyway, my problem - I loaded the latest Merlin Firmware onto my RT86 router and then went about trying to configure a Samsung T5 250GB USB disk as a network shared drive.
My first confusion was in selecting the type of share I need - Basically all I want to do is share the drive on my local network, no need to be available over the internet or anything like that - There will be 5 other computers that need access, and we all are running Ein 10 X64 Pro. There is one iPhone 6s that will also be connecting.
What I was hoping to get was a simple icon of the drive popping up when I open file explorer, I would then map it and be able to share files seemlessley between computers.
Well things didn't work out as simple as that - I tried enabling Media Server share and then SAMBA share, none of which give me an icon of the drive on the PC.