1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

protocol 0800 is buggy, protocol 86dd is buggy...

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by fbreve, Mar 26, 2019.

  1. fbreve

    fbreve Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    I'm using an ASUS RT-AC86U router and the latest firmware version (384.10). This issue is not related to this firmware version, it's been happening since a long time, even on my previous RT-AC68U if I recall correctly.

    My WAN connection is through DHCP, since I have a Peplink Balance One router doing Load Balancing. Whenever I enable IPv6 in passthrough mode, I get loads and loads of these messages on the system log:

    Mar 26 09:21:23 kernel: net_ratelimit: 27 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:21:30 kernel: net_ratelimit: 2 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:21:35 kernel: net_ratelimit: 16 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:21:43 kernel: net_ratelimit: 437 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:21:48 kernel: net_ratelimit: 3508 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:21:53 kernel: net_ratelimit: 1 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:21:59 kernel: net_ratelimit: 24669 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:22:04 kernel: net_ratelimit: 58701 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:22:10 kernel: net_ratelimit: 737 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:22:16 kernel: net_ratelimit: 15 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:22:22 kernel: net_ratelimit: 28 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:22:29 kernel: net_ratelimit: 5 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:22:35 kernel: net_ratelimit: 174 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:22:40 kernel: net_ratelimit: 1029 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:22:46 kernel: net_ratelimit: 14 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:22:51 kernel: net_ratelimit: 15 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:22:56 kernel: net_ratelimit: 9 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:23:01 kernel: net_ratelimit: 44217 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:23:06 kernel: net_ratelimit: 104175 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:23:12 kernel: net_ratelimit: 34246 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:23:17 kernel: net_ratelimit: 49 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:23:22 kernel: net_ratelimit: 145 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:23:27 kernel: net_ratelimit: 1200 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:23:33 kernel: net_ratelimit: 59 callbacks suppressed
    Mar 26 09:23:41 kernel: net_ratelimit: 16 callbacks suppressed

    If I connect through SSH and run dmesg, I get messages like these:

    protocol 86dd is buggy, dev br0
    net_ratelimit: 69 callbacks suppressed
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev eth0
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev br0
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev br0
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev eth0
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev eth0
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev br0
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev eth0
    protocol 86dd is buggy, dev eth0
    protocol 86dd is buggy, dev br0
    protocol 86dd is buggy, dev br0
    net_ratelimit: 1105 callbacks suppressed
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev eth0
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev br0
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev eth0
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev eth0
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev br0
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev br0
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev eth0
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev eth0
    protocol 86dd is buggy, dev eth0
    protocol 0800 is buggy, dev br0

    I understand that 0800 is the EtherType for IPv4 and that 86dd is the EtherType for IPv6. But I can't figure out how to solve these error messages.

    Besides that, both IPv4 and IPv6 connections work just fine.

    Any ideas?
     
    Vexira likes this.
  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,103
    Location:
    UK
  3. fbreve

    fbreve Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Thank you. I read through that topic, but apparently, no solution was found.
     
  4. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,595
    To clarify the state of your router, does it exhibit this issue after a full reset to factory defaults?
     
  5. fbreve

    fbreve Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    I didn't try a full reset to factory defaults with the current firmware which were just released.
    But I tried with some earlier versions and it didn't help.
     
  6. EmeraldDeer

    EmeraldDeer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    415
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    So the following is true?
    • No network devices have jumbo frames enabled
    • No VLAN traffic other than PVID 1 flowing through router
    • No bonded ports
     
  7. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,103
    Location:
    UK
    Whilst there was no solution did you try to determine the cause. Have you tried disabling your load balancing?
     
  8. fbreve

    fbreve Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    I tried leaving only one device (with jumbo frames disabled) connected to the router and the problem persisted.
    I also tried enabling jumbo frames on the router, and the issue persisted.

    From the Peplink router above the Asus only 'Untagged LAN' is flowing. I didn't try setting it to PVID 1. I can do it tonight.

    I don't think RT-AC86U support bonded ports.
     
  9. fbreve

    fbreve Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Yes, but in that scenario the Asus router is handling PPPoE, so IPv6 goes to 'Native' mode and there is no issue. The issue only appears in the IPv6 'passthrough' mode.
     
  10. fbreve

    fbreve Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    I just changed the Peplink LAN port where ASUS is connected from Trunk to Access, but it didn't help.
    Also tried setting a specific VLAN ID (1) instead of Untagged, but it didn't help either.
     
  11. fbreve

    fbreve Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    I did a factory reset with the new firmware and started configuring stuff, starting with IPv6 passthrough.
    The bug kicks in whenever I enable TrendMicro stuff, like AiProtection or QoS. It was hard to diagnose because it doesn't come back to normal by just disabling TrendMicro stuff, it needs a full reboot.

    Now I don't know what to do. QoS is the reason I use this router. Without QoS I may just leave it as an access point only and use only the Peplink as router.