1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

QM2-2S M.2 2280 SSD PCIe Card opinions?

Discussion in 'QNAP' started by Skeptical.me, Nov 14, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Skeptical.me

    Skeptical.me Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Australia
    I've just purchased the QM2-2S card for my TS-253Be and I'm just wondering if anyone here has installed it or the pricier QM2-2S10G1T (edit : not compatible) or QM2-2P10G1T with 10 GbE Network port. Have you found significant performance increases as advertised? I chose the cheaper option as I don't really have a need at this time for the ethernet port.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2018
  2. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,322
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    The SoC on the TS-253Be can't take advantage of ether card - the NVMe or 10Gbe...

    Cancel the order or send the expansion card back...
     
  3. Skeptical.me

    Skeptical.me Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Australia
    The QM2-2S is neither, I checked the compatibility list again, and it's compatible.

    See here:

    [​IMG]

    Also for the 10GbE version (QM2-SP10G1T) is compatible according to the QNAP site:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Although, this appears to contradict the QNAP compatibility list concerning the QM2-2S10G1T and the QM2-2P10G1T (but it doesn't contradict the one I've purchased, the QM2-2S):

    [​IMG]

    I have emailed support for the clarification.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2018
  4. Skeptical.me

    Skeptical.me Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Australia
    I've installed it, and its working well. The little TS-253Be is supercharged lol
     
  5. Johnny Cashmere

    Johnny Cashmere New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Mr Skeptic,

    i have a TVS 672Xt on the way and have had my eye on a 4 slot qnap M2 card. How have you got yours set up? Qtiering or Cache'ing? Was the speed a worthwhile upgrade? with the quad card it can get expensive pretty quickly $300 AUD for the card + 4 x M2 NVME 1TB ssd @ $225 each is around a $1200 upgrade, just wondering if it was worth it.

    Thanks Pal
     
    Skeptical.me likes this.
  6. Skeptical.me

    Skeptical.me Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Australia
    That's a lot of money. I guess you'd have to weigh up your financial priorities first. Is the Qtiering or Cache acceleration worth it for you?

    For my self it was not as expensive and I'm using it for cache acceleration, which has been great, it certainly helps.

    I have not tried Qtiering as yet, I will when I purchase larger capacity M.2 SSD's
     
  7. Johnny Cashmere

    Johnny Cashmere New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Ok No Probs, i just realised the 672xt has 2 x inbuilt m2 slots, so i might buy a couple of ssd's and try out an SSD Cache, if it doesn't work out, they can always be allocated to storage.

    Thanks
     
    Skeptical.me likes this.
  8. Skeptical.me

    Skeptical.me Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Australia
    Ahh, yeah it would have the slots. I wish I could afford that model NAS. Although, the much cheaper TS-253Be is a great buy if all you need is an entertainment hub for multiple devices to stream to. But it lacks the power to, say, stream to 3 devices, plus have QVRPro recording video from multiple cameras, and run other .qpkg all at once.
     
  9. Johnny Cashmere

    Johnny Cashmere New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    So i just looked up the specs to your TS-253BE as i also have an older TS653a as my media server (the TS653 has a slower processor than yours) and i consistently can stream to 8 devices at once without any buffering at all - 2 ipads, 2 android tvs, 2 MBP's, 2 iphones - movie file - played in native format (no transcoding) 1080p mp4 anywhere from 2-4 GB in size. on my unit i run deluge, itunes server, time machine and a few other qpkg's. So its interesting that your's maxes out at 3 streams - how much ram do you have?
     
    Skeptical.me likes this.
  10. Skeptical.me

    Skeptical.me Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah, I discovered the culprit, it was the .qpkg Raddar, for some reason, I'll have to look into it, it was using 4+ gigs of RAM. Things are working much better since disabling it.

    Edit: I'll have to test how many streams I can actually push it to without experiencing any buffering
     
  11. Johnny Cashmere

    Johnny Cashmere New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Cool, yeah i had similar issues with a qpkg a little while ago, it was fixed when QTS was updated
     
    Skeptical.me likes this.