What's new

qos and voip questions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

kanasta

New Around Here
Hello!

I have 15/1 mbps internet connection.
I'm complete newbie as for Qos settings. From what I know standard settings don't prioize Voip at all.

Can someone guide me how to setup and what to put to optimise Voip?
I'll be using ooma and nettalk as backup on dual line phone.

I have ACK SYN FIN RST ICMP and other fields that I have no clue what to put

Thanks

Hello!

I have 15/1 mbps internet connection.
I'm complete newbie as for Qos settings. From what I know standard settings don't prioize Voip at all.

Can someone guide me how to setup and what to put to optimise Voip?
I'll be using ooma and nettalk as backup on dual line phone.

I have ACK SYN FIN RST ICMP and other fields that I have no clue what to put

Thanks

First, set your upload speed to about 80% of your max speed (so, 800 KBits or 0.8 Mbits in your case).

If you are using a hardware ATA to plug your phones (I use a Cisco SP112 myself), create a user rule with either High or Highest priority, set to the MAC address of your ATA, and leave all other fields blank. If you are using a software phone, then check which port it's using for communicating (SIP is usually UDP 5060), and set the rule to your computer running the softphone, and port 5060 UDP.

Thanks Merlin!

I'll do that.

And what are the boxes: ACK SYN FIN RST ICMP in the middle of the page?

Thanks Merlin!

I'll do that.

And what are the boxes: ACK SYN FIN RST ICMP in the middle of the page?

They are types of control packets used for establishing new connections, for example. You shouldn't need to worry about these, it's for advanced network tweaking.