Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

QOS killing IPv6 Download Speed on 380.65_4

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by BrainStormer, Apr 20, 2017.

  1. BrainStormer

    BrainStormer New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    It appears it is applying the upload bandwidth to the download bandwidth for IPv6
    IPv4 works correctly. I tested and found that changing the upload setting changed my
    download speed tests..
     
  2. BrainStormer

    BrainStormer New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Also this only happens on wired connections, not wireless.
     
  3. RussellInCincinnati

    RussellInCincinnati Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    261
    Am wondering what router you are using. And what are your predetermined maximum internet provider up and down speeds. And exactly what settings are you using on the QoS page. And how exactly are you testing IPv4 and then IPv6 speeds. And why are you doing QoS. Is your intent to control Buffer Bloat or are you interested in prioritizing certain users and/or programs?
     
  4. BrainStormer

    BrainStormer New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    I have an RT-AC66U. My advertized comcast speeds are 6Mbps up, 70Mbps down so thats wat I set it at for experimentation.
    I used http://speedtest.xfinity.com for the test as they now do IPv6/IPv4 separateley. I noticed IPv4 was at 70+ Mbit download,
    but IPv6 maxed out at 6Mbit.. Then I changed the upload setting to 70 and IPv6 Matched the IPv4 Speed test on download.
    so IPV4 was set correctly but IPv6 has a bug that uses the upload max value as the downloand max value.
     
  5. RussellInCincinnati

    RussellInCincinnati Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    261
    Still interested in knowing your exact QoS settings. There are several options.
     
  6. bbunge

    bbunge Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    273
    I have the same issue with a RT-AC66U_B1 with QOS set to adaptive web browsing and manual up and down values.

    Sent from my P01M using Tapatalk
     
  7. BrainStormer

    BrainStormer New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Traditional QOS. setting 6 up and 70 down.
     
  8. Sam84

    Sam84 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    USA
    IIRC, I had this problem when the router (RT-AC56U) was setup as a VPN client; Disabling VPN in the router fixed the adaptive QOS downstream speed issue. Also recommend using adaptive QOS manual mode and setting the speeds as opposed to auto mode which sounds like you are already doing.

    I was using ipv4 when the problem was triggered by VPN.
     
  9. RussellInCincinnati

    RussellInCincinnati Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    261
    Would also vote to use Adaptive QoS and manual speed settings. My own trials with traditional QoS and manual speed settings did not work well at all, RT-AC68u, version 65_4.
     

Share This Page