1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

QoS priority for internal network WiFi devices?

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Chuckles67, Aug 21, 2019.

  1. Chuckles67

    Chuckles67 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Using Asuswrt-Merlin 384.13 on a RT-AC66U-B1 router. "QoS WAN/LAN Bandwidth Monitor" is working very well for internet traffic: I set media streaming static IP addresses to Highest priority such as Apple TV and Firesticks, and computers that do file downloads to lower priority. It's clear this QoS allocates the WAN internet connection priority which is very useful (without "QoS WAN/LAN Bandwidth Monitor" I see poor media streaming quality when downloading large files, so it's working great for my setup.)
    I have a new antenna TV network tuner connected via LAN to a Merlin RT-AC68U setup as a Media Bridge over WiFi to the RT-AC66U-B1 router. My question: how can I ensure this RT-AC68U Media Bridge gets the highest priority over WiFi for my internal network? "QoS WAN/LAN Bandwidth Monitor" works in my setup for external WAN internet connection; does that also apply QoS priority for the WiFi and LAN traffic within my network too, e.g.: between my networked TV tuner and a networked media player?
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2019
  2. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,809
    Location:
    Australia
    are you useing adaptive qos if so install the fresh jr qos script, then use 95% of speedtest.net bandiwth values, then set your perpacet overhead from the drop down box that matches yor connection type.
    dont use the device priority in the bandiwth montor its broken.
     
  3. Chuckles67

    Chuckles67 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Will the fresh jr qos script set QoS priority on internal network traffic - within my network? (I'm not asking about QoS priority for the external internet connection).
     
  4. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,809
    Location:
    Australia
    Technically yes, I read that you are using an apple tv and fire sticks, it will set the device priority based on traffic, once it's installed you just set the QoS to custom priority and which category that you want prioritise other another.
     
  5. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,809
    Location:
    Australia
    My advice is to give it a go and see if it helps it's the only way to know for sure, and it doesn't harm.
     
  6. Chuckles67

    Chuckles67 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks for this. It looks straightforward to install/uninstall fresh jr if it doesn't work out.
     
  7. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,809
    Location:
    Australia
    One line to uninstall the script, and one line to install, make sure to enable jfs partition, in administration before you star.
     
  8. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,269
    Location:
    UK
    No. QoS only effects routed WAN to LAN (and vice versa) traffic. It cannot effect LAN to LAN traffic which is switched or bridged.
     
    Vexira likes this.
  9. Kingp1n

    Kingp1n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    266
    @Vexira when doing the test thru speedtest.net it's recommended to this wired vs wireless thru a PC vs mobile phone to get a more accurate reading correct?
     
  10. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,809
    Location:
    Australia
    Doesn't that also apply to bandwidth monitor priority as well?
     
  11. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,809
    Location:
    Australia
    On a non noisy network LAN is the best as in a wired test, I do mine via the app on my phone or on my PC, the only reason I do it on my phone is because my PC is a pain at times and my ram is faulty so it's crashes.
     
    Kingp1n likes this.
  12. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,269
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, that's what I was talking about. "QoS - WAN/LAN Bandwidth Monitor" is just a different way of setting up the QoS rules.
     
    Vexira likes this.