What's new

Query re 10gbe, 10GBase-T, SFP+ and switches

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Diggo

New Around Here
Hi all,
I'm a newbie with 10gbe.
I've also never teamed multiple 1gbe sockets.

I have two HPZ800 workstations populated with SSDs and SAS drives.
● 1–PCIe2 x8(4) 25W
● 2–PCIe2 x16 75W (used by Quadro 6000)
● 3–PCIe x8(4) 25W
● 4–PCIe2 x16(8) 25W
● 5–PCIe2 x16 75W
● 6–PCI 32/33 25W
● 7–PCIe x16(8) 25W

Each includes two 1gbe NICs.
However, for this system I want to add 10gbe via one of the PCIe2 x16 or x8 slots.
One is for video editing, the other is for video rendering.
I also do audio mastering.

I'm wanting to add a fast, custom built box which will be used as the shared 'workspace' by both machines.

In other words, a custom PC acting as a NAS which enables both machines to read the same files, so rendering can be done on one workstation while I edit on the other workstation. (IP-based connections, IOW)

The NAS will contain a PCIe NVMe SSD and 10gbe card
Each workstation will contain a 10gbe card.

Things I need advice on:
1. Is is possible to connect the three machines without using a switch? I'm a bit confused about this and havent found a clear answer despite doing quite a lot of online research. I'm having trouble assimilating all the acronyms and features/limitations of all the 2.5gbe, 5gbe and 10gbe variables. My brain hurts! AFAIK direct 10gbe connection can be done in a two machine network, but not a three machine network.

2. Further to the above question, do dual port 10gbe cards offer the two ports for teaming or failover, as opposed to allowing two workstations to connect directly?