What's new

R7000 with DD-WRT - thinking of replacing

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Bart

Regular Contributor
6 months ago, I bought a Netgear R7000 to replace my ageing D-link DIR-655. The D-link was still going strong, but the problem was it's WiFi didn't cover the entire house.

So after reading some reviews, I bought an R7000. The stock firmware was reasonably good, but I wanted good VPN features, so I flashed it with DD-WRT.

It works pretty good, and I'm impressed with its features. But there's one terribly annoying thing about DD-WRT. I have no idea if others also experience this, but I found it's not very fast when loading webpages. If I load a webpage, more often than not it loads about 50% to 70% of the page, then it stops for a few seconds, and then continues. This is annoying. It feels like my entire system is slow, which is certainly not the case. My internet connection is cable with 150down/10 up, so I cannot imagine this being the problem.

I've always been very happy with my D-Link DIR-655, so now I'm considering chucking the R7000 and buy a new DIR-880L instead. Unfortunately, it seems D-link has also renewed their trusty and good interface for a new one with this model, so I don't if it's any good.