1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

R7800 Slow Wifi Speeds

Discussion in 'NETGEAR AC Wireless' started by Internetuser957, Aug 21, 2019.

  1. Internetuser957

    Internetuser957 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    I Got My X4S-R7800 3 Weeks ago and it's been having 2 issues while on WiFi (PC that's wired does not seem to have these issue) 1. Slow WiFi-Right when I got it I was getting around 150 Mbps Using 5Gz While standing right near the Router When My Previous router a go 275-300+ Mbps (Tired Using Multiple Devices and the same speeds on all of them) but now after a few weeks it has slowed down to around 30-50 Mbps. Already Tried Disabling QOS,WWM and downgrading from the Latest version V1.0.2.5) To the Previous one (V1.0.2.60)
    2. Also Experiencing Intermittent Connection (Packet loss) While On WIFI.
     
  2. NetBytes

    NetBytes New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    My 7800 as shipped did exactly this and is the reason I found this forum and Voxel's firmware.
    Make sure you are on the latest firmware version from Netgear if nothing else (a .63 beta i think?).
    Or make the leap to Voxel's firmware - the .68 is running great here, been using Voxel since his .62 version.
     
  3. Internetuser957

    Internetuser957 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Interesting, Just to Clarify What Issue did you also Experience? Both Slow Speeds and Intermittent Connection?

    Ok, I'll Try .63 Beta Tonight and if that does not work then I'll try Voxel.

    But with my issues I'm second guessing my Purchase and was thinking of Sticking with my Asus 68U.
     
  4. NetBytes

    NetBytes New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Both issues as you described are why I almost returned my 7800. But since finding Voxel in January it's been a rock solid machine.

    From following the forums around here I remember seeing the .63 beta from netgear fixes these issues as well.
    Before that beta everyone still using Netgear FW was downgrading to Netgear's .52 version for it's stability.
     
  5. Internetuser957

    Internetuser957 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Gotcha,Will Try those Firmwares.
    Do you have any thoughts on Asus 68U Vs Netgear R7800?
     
  6. Internetuser957

    Internetuser957 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Turns out .63 did not help.
    Just going to return it...

    Thanks!
     
  7. heidarren

    heidarren Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Make sure you select "Up to 1733mbps" and use only "WPA2-PSK [AES]"
     
    kamoj likes this.
  8. Kal-EL

    Kal-EL Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,521
    Location:
    Motor City, Michigan-USA
    Netgear .63 firmware is exactly the same as the .62 firmware only thing added was a few security fixes.
     
  9. pege63

    pege63 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    974
    Location:
    Sweden, AngelIsland
    Look at the CH Width and use the right CHs for the both bands and do NOT use AUTO settings for none of them and upgrade to the latest 3rd part FW.
     
    kamoj likes this.
  10. Internetuser957

    Internetuser957 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Already Reset it and Switched back but I'm pretty sure that's what it was set too.
     
  11. Internetuser957

    Internetuser957 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Ok, Do you think that the Channels where my issue?
    Decided to return it but now having second thoughts.
     
  12. pege63

    pege63 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    974
    Location:
    Sweden, AngelIsland
    It could be all abowe or just need a upgrade of the FW, hard to say now afterwards.
    All depends on your situation, how you live, how its built up, the living area, where you put the router, wath kind of networkcards was used, what clients you have and and how many they are and so on.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2019
  13. Internetuser957

    Internetuser957 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    I Was playing with it and trying different settings/firmware and nothing helped.

    My Setup is fairly simple- Cox to modem (No splitters) then Modem to Router with the router being on a countertop and one PC that's hardwired (Pretty sure it's a HP Pavilion 590-p0081c) then A Laptop or 2 and A few IPhones and a couple of android devices.