What's new

[R7800] Voxel firmware - Custom bootstrap admin pages

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

MichelvW

New Around Here
Hello everyone! I'm new here and as I recently got my hands on a R7800 and installed Voxel's firmware shortly after. Quite the upgrade from my buggy linksys ea6400! The firmware performs really well and i'm absolutely happy with it, but i'm not a fan of the default netgear design of the admin pages and decided to do something about it. I'm not a programmer perse, but i know my way around html, css and javascript and i made a start gettinh tg rid of the default css implementing bootstrap instead, replacing the iframe(s) with ajax divs and restructuring some menu options (what's withe default basic vs. advanced main menu options anyway?). I got a question though.

How and where is the serverside processing being handled for the pages. I see a lot of functions called between serverside script tags like <% cfg_get("...") %> and cannot get my head around how this is processed. Where is it referring to and could i possibly alter the serverside scripts? It looks PHP-ish but i'm not sure. I tried searching the GIT repo for some of the function names, but got no returns (besides the html pages calling the functions). Sorry if i'm asking stupid questions, i don't intend to waste your precious time.

Hope you can help me out and thanks in advance!

Very welcome here!:D

It's processed by the Netgear binary blob: /usr/sbin/net-cgi. No source code available.
So there are no scripts that can be changed :(
You need to "hi-jack" and create your own functions/scripts.

Please share the result of your efforts or show an example of the new look!:cool:

Last edited: