What's new

R7800 X4S: Antenna specifics info wanted anyone know?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

davidm71

Occasional Visitor
Hi,

Was wondering if anyone know the details of the antenna's used on the R7800 X4S router? How many db are they rated for? Wanted to replace them with more powerful antennas but the fact it uses two different kinds confuses me as I think I have read that the rear antennas are 2.4/5 ghz and the side antennas are 2.4 ghz antennas and that the router prioritizes the ones on the left first for use..

Thanks

The FCC filings should have a lot of this info but it can be difficult to make sense of it all. I am far from an expert but will try to suggest some things to look at.

The Internal Photos might be a good starting point.

Since this device has four spatial streams for both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz radios and only four antennas, all antennas must be dual-band. Looking closely at the internal photos you can follow four lines from each radio chip through front-end modules to the four shared U.FL connectors with wires running to the RP-SMA connectors for the external antennas.

The "Test Report" documents list some information about the antennas and suggest that all of the antennas are identical.