1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Reboot Scheduler in GUI vs Amtm Reboot schedule.

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Vexira, Apr 8, 2020.

  1. Vexira

    Vexira Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    2,103
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm wondering which is the better reboot schedule to use the one in the GUI or amtm based reboot schedule.

    I'm just curious after seeing the option, I've also been hearing about a service reboot, rather than a full one, not sure what this is about.
     
  2. Billy Chaney

    Billy Chaney Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Florida
    When I was using my AC86U I was having problems with the GUI reboot scheduler. I didn't have any problems with the amtm scheduler though. I didn't have any problems using the GUI scheduler with my AX88U.
     
  3. Vexira

    Vexira Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    2,103
    Location:
    Australia
    odd because for some reason it seems that scheduled reboot isn't working properly for me from the gui anymore.

    its till showing log entries from the previous day
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2020
  4. Butterfly Bones

    Butterfly Bones Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1,332
    Location:
    USA
    There was an issue at some time in the past and RMerlin made changes to Asuswrt-Merlin and the lonely coder did the same with amtm to both use the full path to call reboot.
    Code:
    service reboot
    
    I've tired to search for that conversation from a couple years back, but no luck. I think it went back and forth between two or three threads.

    If I want to reboot from the CLI, I use the "service reboot" instead of just "reboot" and had no issues for months, maybe years.
     
    Vexira likes this.
  5. Vexira

    Vexira Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    2,103
    Location:
    Australia
    I was thinking about using the amtm reboot schedule, I'm even half tempted to just factory reset the router to see if that helps.

    It's just that I noticed that the reboot doesn't seem to be executing property, it's like there is still long entries I half suspect my time sync is our of whack an I need to adjust it.
     
  6. Butterfly Bones

    Butterfly Bones Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1,332
    Location:
    USA
    You could also set up a cron job to do it, I used to do that until the issue of the AC86U hanging on reboot (mine has not for months, knock wood)

    Code:
    3 3 * * * service reboot #scheduled_reboot#
    
    This would reboot every day at 0303.

    Now I just restart the webgui every 8 hours at 4 minutes after the hour. No more hang.
    Code:
    4 */8 * * * service restart_httpd #restart_httpd#