1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Rebooting Problem

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by TheLyppardMan, Sep 14, 2018.

  1. TheLyppardMan

    TheLyppardMan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    225
    I have an RT-AC86U running the latest firmware.

    Sometimes, when I reboot the router from within the GUI, all the leds go off and remain off. It's as if the router has just turned off as the log-on screen doesn't pop up either. Turning off the router by the switch on the back and then back on again restores normal functionality. Has anyone else had a similar problem?
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,378
    Location:
    UK
    I've seen this reported numerous times. Seems to be an issue with the 86U crashing when it shuts down.
     
  4. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    did not see it since some time now, maybe newer firmwares fixed it.
    I'm running stock now.
     
  5. TheLyppardMan

    TheLyppardMan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    225
    Hmm, that's interesting. Maybe I'll trying running the stock firmware next month when everyone else is out of the house, so I can see if it still happens.
     
  6. Treadler

    Treadler Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    South Australia
    Yes, not often, but does happen.
     
  7. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    Often I get the problem that GUI is not responsive on 68U and 86U both in AP mode with stock or Merlin.
    Can be solved with SSH 'service restart_httpd'.
    Had it just again about 10 times.
    Seem to be an issue, when I am connected via one router and change or disable this band I am connected to.
    PC will use same SSID on other band or other router, but than GUI is frozen on previous router.

    I did this to be connected to a dedicated band to measure the speed and test if it will auto-connect, because had the problem, that PC couldn't connect to one router main-SSID before, but no issue with same router guest-SSID.
    So tested both 2G/5G main SSID on both routers. Turned off 3 and test remaining one.
    Then open another band on other router and disable previous band -> GUI frozen!
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!