What's new

Recommendations for LTE 4G modem for backup?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

jtara

Occasional Visitor
I'd like to get recommendations for an LTE 4G modem to use as backup to my gigabit synchronous Webpass/Google Fiber service.

I recently had Webpass installed, and will be discontinuing cable service with Cox. I already cut my TV service a few months ago, and plan on discontinuing my 300/30 service with Cox in the next week or two.

My HOA just made a deal with Webpass, and it is now included with HOA dues. It costs the HOA only $30/month/unit. (maybe less, if they pay yearly). Normally it is $60 for individuals, and I have been paying about $110 for the Cox 300/30 service!

Because I write software for a living and work from home, reliable and uninterrupted Internet service is important to me. Webpass uses an antenna on the roof of the building that connects to a nearby building that has fiber installed. Although I have not experienced it yet (just had installed yesterday) I know from talking to neighbors that there are occasional outages due to weather, etc.

So, for now, I have set-up my RT-AC88U with ASUSWrt-Merlin dual-homed, with fallback to Cox. I was thinking of going to their lowest-cost, lowest-speed service, but at $42.99 for 10mbps down and something paltry up, even that doesn't make sense, since I can have a USB modem added to my ATT wireless account for $10/month and get higher speeds. (Same price as WiFi hotspot, which I already have on my iPhone.)

I would like recommendations for a USB LTE 4G modem that is known to be compatible with the RT-AC88U and AsusWrt-Merlin.