[Release] Asuswrt-Merlin 384.16 (and 384.13_6) are now available

Status
Not open for further replies.

AntonK

Very Senior Member
You will need to do a factory default reset afterward. Latest Asus firmware now encrypts the user password, so my firmware won't be able to handle the encrypted password that will be present in nvram.

Hi RMerlin. I was able to upgrade without issue as I haven't run stock firmware in quite some time. In the future, should you incorporate the latest 3.0.0.4.384.81790 GPL into your firmware, would the upgrade be seamless? Or do you expect there would be hoops to jump through?

Thanks,
Anton
 
M

motox22a

Guest
Total "cherry" NOOB here (Upgrade for first time)...
Wanted to try flashing my newly acquired RT-AC86u across the network (wired) upgrade 384.15>384.16.
Safely removed Disk drive/rebooted/flashed.
Hooked up drive again and rebooted once more for good measure.
All looking good. Just did my other "backup" RT-AC86u as well.
 

cmillar6

Senior Member
Since the upgrade to 384.16 on my AC88u I've noticed this flooding my syslog, any idea what the cause is?

Apr 5 20:00:21 dnsmasq[323]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Apr 5 20:00:21 dnsmasq[323]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Apr 5 20:00:21 dnsmasq[323]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Apr 5 20:00:21 dnsmasq[323]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Apr 5 20:00:21 dnsmasq[323]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Apr 5 20:00:21 dnsmasq[323]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Apr 5 20:00:21 dnsmasq[323]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Apr 5 20:00:21 dnsmasq[323]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Apr 5 20:00:21 dnsmasq[323]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Apr 5 20:00:22 dnsmasq[323]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Apr 5 20:00:22 dnsmasq[323]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Apr 5 20:00:22 dnsmasq[323]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
 

distilled

Senior Member
Dirty flashed 86u with 68u mesh node, upgrading from beta3. Everything is hunky dory.
 

QuikSilver

Very Senior Member
Another smooth upgrade from beta3 for my 86u, Thanks!
 

barkmann

New Around Here
ran into trouble enabling dual wan after a clean .16 upgrade on my ac86u. Simply would not connect on primary, reporting dhcp issues. Using ethernet port4 as primary. Went back to 15 and all was well again. cheers
 

Markster

Senior Member
Trying to upgrade RT86U from 384.15 to latest and tried twice but get the same error
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-04-05 at 8.50.08 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2020-04-05 at 8.50.08 PM.jpg
    30 KB · Views: 343

tului

Occasional Visitor
Any pressing security patches since .16b3? Can't really immediately go to upgrade unless some massive hole exists.
 

SomeWhereOverTheRainBow

Part of the Furniture
Any pressing security patches since .16b3? Can't really immediately go to upgrade unless some massive hole exists.
Code:
- FIXED: CVE-2020-8597 security issue.

for more info, read
https://access.redhat.com/security/cve/cve-2020-8597

The impact level is ranked,

This rating is given to flaws that can easily compromise the confidentiality, integrity, or availability of resources. These are the types of vulnerabilities that allow local users to gain privileges, allow unauthenticated remote users to view resources that should otherwise be protected by authentication, allow authenticated remote users to execute arbitrary code, or allow remote users to cause a denial of service.
 
Last edited:

eclp

Senior Member
Smooth update to AX88U and AiMesh-AX58U.

This constant message remains in the syslog and regularly:
Code:
kernel: CFG80211-ERROR) wl_cfg80211_change_station : WLC_SCB_AUTHORIZE sta_flags_mask not

:)
 

pablo11

Occasional Visitor
You will need to do a factory default reset afterward. Latest Asus firmware now encrypts the user password, so my firmware won't be able to handle the encrypted password that will be present in nvram.
Yep I completed the flash a few hours ago. All good.
Just been too busy to reply.
I noticed that the password was unusable so I reset it - just as you said.

Thanks mate.

Sent from my BLA-L29 using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top