1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

"Reminder: The System time zone is different from your locale setting."

Discussion in 'ASUS Wireless' started by Dick_W, Jun 12, 2018.

  1. Dick_W

    Dick_W Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Env: RT-AC68U / ASUSWRT 3.0.0.4.384_21045

    What does this message even mean? Where are there two different time zone settings? I only see a system one. Where is there a "locale setting" time zone?

    My system time zone is correctly set to (GMT-10:00) Hawaii. There are no DST settings to set. Which is correct, because there is no DST here. The system time shown on the logs page is correct.

    Is this just some kind of bug/bad message?

    Thanks for any thoughts.
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,068
    Location:
    UK
    This has been reported many many times. Just ignore it.

    EDIT:

    The error is generated if there is a mismatch between the timezone offset in use by the router (as reported by uptime()in state.js) and the timezone offset reported by your web browser. The code is in "function corrected_timezone()"

    Go to http://browserspy.dk/date.php and look at the "Time and date" line. The router is comparing the 5 characters at the end of that line that begin with a "+" or "-".

    Wed Jun 13 2018 15:48:55 GMT+0100 (GMT Daylight Time)
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2018
  4. Dick_W

    Dick_W Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Thanks for that specific explanation of what's going on here. That's what I couldn't find in my searches about this issue.

    Yes, browser is reportedly asserting "GMT-1000 (Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time)" and router only knows "(GMT-10:00) Hawaii". So if they are trying to compare, textually, -1000 to -10:00, that would be a problem.

    Edit to add: it may also be some kind of ASUS-Chrome compatability issue as viewing this router page in Edge does not show this diagnostic message.
     
  5. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,068
    Location:
    UK
    I think you're probably right about it being a browser thing. I haven't been able to find the source code that generates the router's uptime string, but looking at it in the Chrome developer console I can see this is the string it's returning for me:

    uptimeStr = "Wed, 13 Jun 2018 19:27:32 +0100(19754 secs since boot)";

    So it's working for me at the moment. "+0100" = "+0100"
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!