What's new

Replacement for dying R7000

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

risk

New Around Here
Hi all,

Sorry to be a bother, I know these kind of questions get asked all the time.
Just really need get some advice.

I've been running a Netgear R7000 since 2013, eventually changing the firmware to AdvancedTomato.
It's been running great, until the last few months. Requiring weekly reboots, dropped connections.. finally the 5G signal dying completely.
It's done me well. 8 years is a good life, I think.

2 weeks ago I popped over the the local BestBuy to see what's out.
Saw what was available and did some research on Reddit, SNB and other sites (DongKnows)
Ended up settling on the TP-Link Archer AX20.
Seems to work alright, connections are solid.
But things just seem to take a few extra seconds to load. Not as instant as it was with the R7000.

My place is around 1500 sqft, 3 levels. Reception wasn't an issue, since the pings and speed tests were good.
Just found things like Netflix, D+, etc.. would take extra time to load.
My Nintendo Switch wouldn't load anything online, that was one big issue.

Fast-forward to today. Decided to just try something.
Popped back to BestBuy and picked up the Asus RT-AX58U
Set it up and suddenly my issues are gone.
Instant loading, Switch connects great, speeds are still solid.
Tossed Merlin on it and still solid.

Now, I guess my question is this an issue due to it being TP-Link? AX1800 vs AX3000?
Is this the best router for my buck? (It's on sale for $179 CND).. I did see the RT-AX82U for $229.
But I also came across a clearanced R7000 for $100 at Walmart. Could try that again with either Merlin or FreshTomato.

I dunno.. just banging my head against the wall right now.