1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Replacing my router (ASUS RTN66U), need faster but no wifi

Discussion in 'Wireless Buying Advice' started by venture996, Jan 17, 2018.

  1. venture996

    venture996 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    I've been using an old Asus RTN66U as my wired router, but I now need to support a personal VPN and I think this old router will not handle the load. I have 3 Netgear routers as access points in the house (R7000, R6400, anda WNDR3700). Can someone recommend a router that would be fast enough to handle VPN and forewall duties, but not come with leading edge wifi (that I won't be using, since its in my utility room)?

    I tried looking at wired routers, but it seems like a black hole of complexity...
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2018
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. Klueless

    Klueless Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    The Asus RT-AC2900 (86u) comes to mind. Scattered throughout this forum are favorable comments regarding speed through VPN (no personal experience myself). Sorry, it also happens to have pretty good WiFi performance.
     
  4. avtella

    avtella Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    680
    Location:
    USA
    The 86U as mentioned above or build a pfsense unit for around the same price which would be more powerful.
     
  5. Arsena11

    Arsena11 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    any ides what i would need to build one ?
     
  6. avtella

    avtella Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    680
    Location:
    USA
    Qotom boxes (some even with pfsense preinstalled) are available online for $200-250 with 2 - 4 ethernet ports and an Intel Dual or Quad core CPU. The newer Qotom boxes have a Dual Core CPU but more powerful and it supports AES-NI instructions required for pfsense 2.5.
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!