1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Restore Setting from RT-AC88U to RT-AX88U

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by ShagBark, Dec 5, 2019.

  1. ShagBark

    ShagBark New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Been a lurker for a bit here and a Merlin user for about 6 months.

    Can I backup my settings on my old AC88U to restore on my new AX88U? Curious if anyone has any experience with this. I have a lot setting that I rather not have to redo manually unless I have to. Being they don't seem that much different I'm thinking it will work. Looking for any ideas on this.
    Thanks Annotation 2019-12-05 152812.jpg
     
  2. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,636
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    No.
     
  3. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,636
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Two different linux versions, two different design platforms, etc.
     
    ShagBark likes this.
  4. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,636
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Also AX88U is 64bit and AC88U is 32bit.
     
    Butterfly Bones and ShagBark like this.
  5. ShagBark

    ShagBark New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Understood. Fast reply thanks.

    Anyone have any suggestions on how I can do this. Only thing I came up with is pull up both web interfaces on 2 monitors, grab a drink and mirror the settings manually.
     
    adampk17 likes this.
  6. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,636
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Screen shots work real nice as well.
     
    Butterfly Bones likes this.
  7. ShagBark

    ShagBark New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Good point... any program to take screen shots automatically of all the setting pages? There are a lot of settings in the Merlin/Asus web interface to change.
     
  8. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,636
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    I use "awesome screenshots" for chrome and also "full page screen capture" for chrome. Both are extensions and free without added crap.
     
  9. skeal

    skeal Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,636
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Also you probably don't really need every page backed up. Backup the stuff you don't know from memory.
     
    Butterfly Bones likes this.
  10. Butterfly Bones

    Butterfly Bones Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1,089
    Location:
    USA
    ShagBark and dave14305 like this.
  11. dosborne

    dosborne Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    /dev/null
    I print to PDF all important pages. Makes it super easy to pull something up as reference or reconfigure after a reset.
     
    royarcher and ShagBark like this.
  12. SheikhSheikha

    SheikhSheikha Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    The Desert
    A handy tool to capture all your configuration tabs is Snagit
     
    ShagBark and L&LD like this.