1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ROBLOX causing reboot?

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by giant25, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. giant25

    giant25 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    I have an RT-N66u running latest John's fork 30E2. My kids play ROBLOX and it seems to be causing my router to reboot whenever they play (If I keep them off ROBLOX the router is solid). I suspect that the router believes it is encountering a DDOS or port sweep type attempt, but my logs aren't persistent across reboots. I believe ROBLOX tries to hit various UDP ports during certain parts of the game. I wanted to reply to this thread below, but it was a bit dated:
    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/rt-ac87u-keeps-locking-up.27283/page-4
    Anyone have any idea why this would be occurring and what I can try to isolate this or even resolve the issue? Thanks.
     
  2. DonnyJohnny

    DonnyJohnny Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    643
    I am not sure about the issue you having. But have you try setting up a swap file to see if it help?

    After swap file on, you may try switch the firewall log on for drop to see if there is any ddos going on during the game. Turn off once you are done with the debugging.
     
  3. SmallNetGuy

    SmallNetGuy Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    110
  4. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,788
    Location:
    United States
    I don't think anyone has identified exactly what ROBLOX is doing that is causing the problem.

    One thing I do know, is that the N66 doesn't have the horsepower to handle excessive syslog logging (I put a fix in the fork to handle GRC port scans with logging enabled if you set DDOS protection). So only suggestion is to make sure firewall packet logging is disabled as well as any addons that do a lot of logging.
     
  5. giant25

    giant25 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    My firewall settings are attached, other filter tabs are disabled, except IPv6 Firewall is Enabled. The Roblox machine is an Android tablet, so Wireshark might be trickier. Does syslog forwarding work well enough to capture something?[​IMG]
     
  6. Stevemcclure

    Stevemcclure Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Had this happen on 2 AC87u routers. Actually sent the router back the 1st time as I thought it was broken. It Would crash the router as soon as kids logged onto it and I had to power cycle it each time. Unfortunately I could never find out what was causing it, so just had to stop them from playing it.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. giant25

    giant25 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Bummer, I was debating on buying an RT-AC86u, but maybe need to get to the bottom of this first.
     
  8. giant25

    giant25 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    I'll probably let the kids play some Roblox this weekend to see what's going on. What do you guys think is the best way to capture what's going on from their Android tab (not rooted)? Syslog to Splunk? Packet capture? Just not clear what what logging the router can handle. Thanks.
     
  9. DonnyJohnny

    DonnyJohnny Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    643
    I am wonder if u can use android emulator to play Roblox on pc. Then maybe you can use wireshark or any other packet capture tool to help see what is going on with them.


    https://www.androidauthority.com/best-android-emulators-for-pc-655308/
     
  10. giant25

    giant25 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    That's a good thought. My concern there is that Roblox is pretty resource intensive and might not run well within an emulator. I was hoping moreso to log TCP and UDP port usage (moreso UDP since I believe is what Roblox uses) and see if the router is taking action somehow or buffer overflowing.
     
  11. M@rco

    [email protected] Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2017
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    /opt
    Surprised to read this. My son plays Roblox daily on his iPad and on a Windows 10 laptop, never had any network-related issues with it. Too bad your router has limited resources for logging, that sure would help to see what's actually happening. Have you tried @DonnyJohnny's suggestion to set up a swap file?
     
  12. giant25

    giant25 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    I haven't tried a swap file yet. I need to see if that will really help with FW logging and maybe try it out. Based on John's comments above, I'm not sure. I'm assuming I mount a USB drive and utilize this as swap but I'm not sure what that buys me in this scenario upon reboot unless I figure out how logs are stored on it. Thoughts?
     
  13. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,510
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Might be fun to think that an app like Roblox is a problem, I would be more worried about the host OS (Android).

    Recent issue with Android is that a device may flood any AP, not just Asus, and basically run it out of memory...

    https://support.google.com/chromecast/answer/7634752

    This probably answers a lot of recent issues that have been scattered about the forums - device insanity there...
     
  14. giant25

    giant25 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks for this link. In my case, there's 6 Android devices, 3 Apple devices, smart TVs, Echos, etc on my network. The router is stable 100% of the time...until Roblox is fired up. I'm talking stable for years. Now I just need to figure out why. If anyone knows an approach with the swap file to troubleshoot, I'd love to know.