1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Router becomes unresponsive after a day

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by timonoj, Mar 20, 2019.

  1. timonoj

    timonoj Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Hi guys!

    I've been having no trouble with my AC68U for years...I'm currently running Merlin v384.9. And after several hours running, I slowly start losing my connection, and not even the page for the router loads. I need to completely power it off with the power button and start it up. What can I troubleshoot? I don't see any weird process running right now.

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,597
    Years? When was the last time you did a full reset to factory defaults followed by a minimal and manual configuration to secure the router and connect to your ISP?

    Btw, that jpg image is too small to read.
     
    indark and martinr like this.
  3. eibgrad

    eibgrad Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    72
    Have you checked the syslog for anything unusual?

    I'd probably start monitoring memory usage to see if there's a memory leak from some process that eventually exhausts available memory.
     
  4. timonoj

    timonoj Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks for the suggestion. I didn't see anything very obvious on the syslog. And htop now shows a normal memory usage, idling for the last 8 hours at 111-115MB. Yesterday before it died I could see it was at around 250MB, which is really scratching the limits, even if it has swap file. So...I'll keep checking. So far it has crashed a couple of times like this.
     
  5. CrystalLattice

    CrystalLattice Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Vero Beach, FL
    Rollback to v384.8, factory firmware, or whatever! More important to stay up than experiment with new.
     
  6. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,597
    That would be the last thing to do. After exhausting other options in post 2. ;)
     
    AndreiV likes this.
  7. dave14305

    dave14305 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    527
    If you are using the DLNA server, you might have some corrupt files being scanned and hanging up the router.
     
  8. CrystalLattice

    CrystalLattice Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    129
    Location:
    Vero Beach, FL
    Also, to paraphrase Jim Salter(#1 router expert), you're relying on firmware curated by one person, who is named after a mythological character!
     
  9. AndreiV

    AndreiV Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    736
    Location:
    пішли на риболовлю

    That is the second time in 2 days you have trolled that statement on this site.

    If you have an anti Merlin agenda just say so but don't go giving crap advice to people to make their router less secure.
     
  10. martinr

    martinr Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,699
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    You don’t suppose they think RMerlin is Eric’s real name, do you?
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2019
  11. timonoj

    timonoj Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Ok...Sorry for the bother. Seems I can't replicate the issue, just as it came it went. Two hang ups in as many days, and now it's 48h running stable with a normal RAM consumption...I'd leave it be for now, I'll update if there's any further issues to troubleshoot.

    Thanks for the help guys!
     
  12. martinr

    martinr Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,699
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    It’s quantum physics: the act of observation changes the outcome. Good luck!
     
    L&LD likes this.
  13. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    29,849
    Location:
    Canada
    Could simply be power fluctuations.