What's new

Router to support VPN client/server and PiHole

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Funkazan

New Around Here
Hello,

I'll start by saying that I'm a bit of a novice with networking and I've been searching around for information about this for ages and I'm a bit overwhelmed by it all, so I know the answers are out there, but I'm hoping you can help me to pull it all together.

What (I think) I want:

- The router to act as a VPN client to a service like NordVPN/ExpressVPN for all connected devices
- The router to act as a VPN server, so that I can use, say, my phone/laptop over 4G or from an airport or cafe WiFi and connect back to the router via VPN and then still go out through the Nord/Express VPN
- To be able to connect a PiHole device to the network and have all connected devices (either local or via the incoming VPN) use that as their DNS server before sending all other network traffic through the outbound VPN
- Fast (for 4k streaming and gaming), good coverage, etc. - the usual stuff

My ISP has provided me with a basic router/modem which can be configured to run in just modem mode, and I'm assuming that just about any router would be capable of connecting to the Internet through that. I can't think of any reason why not, but thought it worth mentioning anyway.

Price isn't really a big issue (within reason). I was considering the Asus GT-AX11000, for example.

I'm happy to put in the time researching it and configuring it to my specific requirements - I just don't want to splash out on a nice router and then find that it doesn't meet my needs and to then have to get another one.