1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC1900U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.384_21152 vs. 21140

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by Grisu, Jul 12, 2018.

  1. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Does anyone know the differences between RT-AC1900U and RT-AC1900 ?

    Why did only this explicit unit get an 21152 update only 5 days after 21140 launch???
    What is special to it?

    I compared 21140 firmware for RT-AC1900U with those of other 68U types and has been identically trx.
    So I suppose we could use this 21152 for others as well.

    Loaded on my RT-AC68U as mesh-node without troubles and changed back to AP-mode still running.

    RT-AC1900U: https://www.asus.com/Networking/RT-AC1900U/HelpDesk_BIOS/
    new 21152: http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/RT-AC1900U/FW_RT_AC1900U_300438421152.ZIP
    old 21140: http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/RT-AC1900U/FW_RT_AC1900U_300438421140.ZIP

    Version 3.0.0.4.384.21152 2018/07/1042.89 MBytes
    ASUS RT-AC1900U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.384.21152
    - Fixed bugs.
    - Improved system stability.


    Please unzip the firmware file first then check the MD5 code.
    MD5: 28fa8fd210ece5b8e73b24ed21028345


    For me it seems to be an RT-AC66U B1 with 1900 instead of 1750 MHz as USB 3.0 is in front of the router on the picture and laying housing version like 66U-series:
    https://www.asus.com/Networking/RT-AC1900U/
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. Sanna1967

    Sanna1967 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Canada
  4. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
  5. Sanna1967

    Sanna1967 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Canada
  6. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    dont have them, so I cant check hardware!

    I only asked to determine whether the firmware is same or save to be used on others of 68U-family.
     
  7. Sanna1967

    Sanna1967 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Canada
    Sorry
    Yes,this is the same firmware.
    Same hardware inside all the RT-68u and RT1900 , the only difference is CPU speed.
     
  8. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    where did you grab this information for RT-AC1900U or just suppose to be.
    RT-AC66U and 66U_B1 are totally different too!

    We have often seen that routers got exactly same firmware, and only some versions got broken with an update!
     
  9. monaro-ds

    monaro-ds Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    86
    why its only for 1900U and not for 1900 or 1900P
     
  10. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    I used it for my AC68U and works fine as supposed, but dont see any differences to 21045 or 21140 in AP mode, but thats normal with bug fixes you're not involved.
    Seems they now push it out to small user group 1 week before all will get it.
    Has been the same with 21140 only for 66U_B1 a week in front of rest 68-family.
    They all the time had same trx (same MD5), only different file names.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2018
  11. Blinkyz

    Blinkyz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    393
    Location:
    Nowhere
    This is the same Firmware ! :) You can flash
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!