1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

RT-AC3200 & Emerson Sensi

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by nikkisayswhat, Apr 18, 2019.

  1. nikkisayswhat

    nikkisayswhat New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    I did a search and came up with one thread regarding this, but I am still having trouble getting my Emerson Sensi thermostat to connect to my AC3200.

    I have tried setting the 2Ghz channel to legacy protection, auto, G only, it never seems to work. I can set the Sensi up just fine using my phone as a hotspot, but as soon as I try to connect it to my router it refuses to connect to the router. (It actually did connect ONCE somehow and immediately lost connection 10 seconds later)

    Not sure what else I can do at this point, I know I could always set up a second router just for this thermostat but I would prefer to avoid that if possible.
     
  2. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,105
    Have you tried resetting the thermostat? Does it have any updated firmware available?

    Have you tried using a new SSID (test with the Guest networks) which is 8 characters long, no spaces, no special characters, punctuation or smiley faces?

    What firmware are you using on the RT-AC3200? When was the last time you did a reset to factory defaults after flashing the latest firmware on it?
     
    nikkisayswhat likes this.
  3. nikkisayswhat

    nikkisayswhat New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    There is no way to manually initiate a firmware update on the Sensi, it all happens automatically.

    The router firmware was just updated a few weeks a go, although it has been a while since a full factory reset has been performed.

    I haven't tried the guest network but I can give it a shot when I get home and see what it does.

    Oddly enough when I just checked the Sensi app to see if there was a way to update the firmware, it looks like the stupid thing is now online again! I have no idea what the deal is with this thing, I have spent so much time getting it to work and it just decides all on its own to connect to the internet!

    I may have to get one of those "add a power wire" and put a better thermostat on the wall, I really hate this thing! :mad:
     
    L&LD likes this.
  4. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,240
    Location:
    USA
    Have you disabled Airtime Fairness and Universal Beamforming for the 2.4 GHz band?

    Does moving the router/AP to clear line-of-sight to the thermostat make a difference?

    OE
     
  5. nikkisayswhat

    nikkisayswhat New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    I haven't no, I didn't even see those options listed on the web UI. I will take a look at it when I get home!

    Due to where the modem is and where the thermostat is positioned, there is no way for it to face the thermostat directly, though its only about 15 feet away currently separated by one narrow wall.
     
  6. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,240
    Location:
    USA
    The point is to change the radio path, even if only temporarily to test. A spare, long Ethernet cable from modem to router WAN would likely permit this test. However, your description makes it sound like a moot test, unless there are some interfering objects inside that wall or the thermostat antenna placement/orientation/health is suspect... can you connect to your mobile hotspot at your router location?

    OE
     
  7. nikkisayswhat

    nikkisayswhat New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    I would have to test it again with the phone where the router is to see, but I am not sure if thats the problem. Directly on from the thermostat is another wall and then my bedroom, WiFi signal is fine in there and that has the main electrical panel for the whole apartment in that line of site with no issues.